Bianca Pedrina

Cloud Atlas

Annual exterior project

24.1.2014 —
18.1.2015

Pedrina Bianca E 2014 1
Bianca Pedrina, Cloud Atlas, annual exterior project 2014, installation view Kunsthaus Baselland 2014, photo: Serge Hasenböhler

The Basel artist Bianca Pedrina has been invited to create a work within the framework of the yearlong 2014 project Designing the Exterior Façade of the Kunsthaus Baselland.

The large-scale work Cloud Atlas is part of a group of photographs that the artist developed in Basel last summer on the occasion of the project 100 Jahre Meret Oppenheim. Das Geheimnis der Vegetation (100 Years Meret Oppenheim. The Secret of Vegetation). In this series Bianca Pedrina engages with the question of how much photographs can communicate reliability and truthfulness in a world — as the artist puts it — in which a flood of images of monstrous proportions accompanies each one of us continually.

The work Cloud Atlas thus looks into this question, from the artist, of how a work can make its topic the singularities of the medium of photography and, in so doing, the connection between reproduction and reality. This very thing is picked up in the work Cloud Atlas: it shows an illustration of a part of the sky. As the artist describes it, a single cloud can be seen there, surrounded by soft, dissolving vapour trails as well as two bright hexagonal reflections from the artist’s camera lens. These so-called ‘lens flares’ are brought into photography as a painterly moment, a kind of ‘ancillary tool’ within the true representation of reality. In this work we experience the coordination of several pieces of information that coexist in a particular moment, of which, however, all the facets are not visible, and we are given the choice of what we want to accept as reality.

In her photographic work Bianca Pedrina frequently engages with the process of visual perception. She often traces architecture and its history, in relation to its form and its content. Questions of the relationship between a viewer and his direct environment and photography’s claim to truth in general are central to her work.
Text by Ines Goldbach

Curator: Ines Goldbach

Bianca Pedrina

Cloud Atlas

Jahresaussenprojekt

24.1.2014 —
18.1.2015

Pedrina_Bianca_J_2014_1
Bianca Pedrina, Cloud Atlas, Jahresaussenprojekt 2014, Ausstellungsansicht Kunsthaus Baselland 2014, Foto: Serge Hasenböhler

Im Rahmen des Jahresprojekts 2014 zur Gestaltung der Aussenfassade des Kunsthauses Baselland wurde die Basler Künstlerin Bianca Pedrina zu einem Beitrag eingeladen, den grossen Aussenbanner des Kunsthaus Baselland für rund ein Jahr zu bespielen.

Die grossformatige Arbeit Cloud Atlas ist Teil einer Fotostrecke, welche die Künstlerin anlässlich des Projekts 100 Jahre Meret Oppenheim. Das Geheimnis der Vegetation (2013) in Basel letzten Sommer entwickelt hat. Bianca Pedrina setzt sich dabei mit der Frage auseinander, inwieweit Fotografien Verlässlichkeit und Echtheit vermitteln können, in einer Welt, wie es die Künstlerin formuliert, in der ein jeder von einer ungeheuer grossen ständigen Bilderflut begleitet wird.

Das Werk Cloud Atlas geht eben jener Frage der Künstlerin nach, wie ein Werk die Eigenheiten des Mediums Fotografie und somit den Zusammenhang zwischen Abbildung und Realität thematisieren kann. Eben dies wird in dem Werk Cloud Atlas aufgegriffen: Es zeigt die Abbildung eines Stücks Himmel. Darin, wie es die Künstlerin beschreibt, ist eine einsame Wolke zu sehen, umgeben von zarten, sich gerade auflösenden Kondensstreifen sowie zwei bunten Hexagonen — Reflexionen von der Kameralinse der Künstlerin. Diese sogenannten ‹lens flares› werden als malerisches Moment in die Fotografie eingebracht, als eine Art ‹additives Werkzeug› innerhalb der getreuen Abbildung der Realität. Wir erfahren in dieser Arbeit die Gleichschaltung von Informationen, die in jenem speziellen Moment vorhanden, aber nicht in all seinen Facetten sichtbar ist, und werden vor die Wahl gestellt, was wir selbst gerne als Realität akzeptieren möchten.

Bianca Pedrina setzt sich in ihrem fotografischen Werk oftmals mit dem Vorgang der visuellen Wahrnehmung auseinander. Oft ist es die Architektur und ihre Geschichte, der sie formal und inhaltlich nachspürt. Zentral für ihre Arbeit ist die Frage nach der Beziehung zwischen dem Betrachter und seiner unmittelbaren Umgebung und dem Wahrheitsanspruch an die Fotografie im Allgemeinen.
Text von Ines Goldbach

KuratorIn: Ines Goldbach