EXHIBITION PROGRAMME 2017

20th January – 19th March 2017

DORIS LASCH
BIANCA PEDRINA

Opening: Thursday 19th January 2017, 6.30pm
Press preview: Wednesday 18th January, 11am

Doris Lasch (b.1972, DE, lives and works in Basel) investigates forms of image production in her first major solo institutional exibition at the Kunsthaus Baselland. At a time when the photographic image seems ubiquitous and the volume of photographically created, not to mention digitally altered, images grows, Lasch questions the processes of this form of generating images using the methods and functionality of photography. Moments or possibilities of image creation are integrated in the exhibition setting in various ways. Between installation, intervention and sculpture, Doris Lasch arranges forms and fragments of a photographic language in the Kunsthaus Baselland spaces, an arrangement that also relates to the architecture of the exhibition space.

 

Doris_Lasch

Doris Lasch
2016

 

In her photographic work Bianca Pedrina (b.1985, CH, lives and works in Vienna) consistently engages with the process of visual perception. She frequently traces back forms and ideas of architecture and its history. The question of the relationship between the viewer and their immediate surroundings is central to her work, as well as photography’s claim to truth in general. In her multifaceted work, in which she uses differing media such as photography, film, or sculpture and installation, Pedrina questions how a work can make the qualities of the medium of photography its subject, and with that medium the connection between image and reality. Following a recent exhibition of her work viewed by a wide audience at the Amerika-Haus (C/O Berlin), the exhibition at the Kunsthaus Baselland will be Pedrina’s largest institutional solo exhibition to date.

Friday 20th January: Kunsthaus Baselland @Museumsnacht Basel

20th March – 31st December 2017

DANIEL GÖTTIN

Kunsthaus Baselland Annual Exterior Project 2017
Opening: Sunday 19th March, 11.30 am

 

Daniel Göttin, (b.1959, CH) who has long lived and worked in Basel, will allow a surprising insight into his work with the Kunsthaus Baselland’s annual exterior project, work which is known to many only as Concrete or Minimal. Göttin, who has been invited to participate in several major international group and solo exhibitions in recent years alone, notably in Japan, Australia and the United States will bring ‘a piece of the world’ to Muttenz and to the Kunsthaus Baselland.

31st March – 16th July 2017

ITZIAR OKARIZ

Opening with live performance: Thursday 30th March 2017, 6.30pm
Press conference: Wednesday 29th March, 11am
In cooperation with CA2M. Centro de Arte Dos de Mayo, Madrid,
and Tabakalera. Centro Internacional de Cultura Contemporánea, San Sebastián

 

Itziar Okariz (b. 1965, ES, lives in Bilbao) has long been among the most important international performance artists who engage with themes of gender and language particularly, and who in so doing investigate the meaning of word and text in relation to their own bodies. Her works have achieved broad recognition after live performances at the Guggenheim Museum Bilbao and the Museo Nacional Centro de Arte Reina Sofía in Madrid, amongst others, as well as in the streets of New York, a metropolis where she spent many years. The solo exhibition at the Kunsthaus Baselland – which is the first showing of her work in Switzerland and the first ever survey of her work – will give special insight into Itziar Okariz’ multifaceted creation, including live performances and larger sound works. The exhibition will subsequently travel to CA2M. Centro de Arte Dos de Mayo in Madrid and the Tabakalera. Centro Internacional de Cultura Contemporánea in San Sebastián. A comprehensive catalogue of Okariz’ work will be produced in collaboration.

 

Itziar_Okaris

Itziar Okariz
Irrintzi Repetition (Mute)
2009

28th April – 16th July 2017

MARKUS AMM
PIERO GOLIA

Opening: Thursday 27th April, 6.30pm
Press preview: Wednesday 26th April, 11am

 

Artist Markus Amm (b. 1969, DE, lives in Geneva) became internationally known through participation in major group shows on painting like Variations: Conversations In And Around Abstract Painting at the Los Angeles County Museum of Art, Los Angeles, CA in 2014 or Triumph of Painting 4: Germania at the Saatchi Gallery, London in 2008, among others. Key to these major survey shows was the question of what painting can be and do today. Amm, who was in London for many years and now lives and works in Geneva, will realise the first comprehensive survey of his work in Switzerland at the Kunsthaus Baselland. The artist will allow an overview of his fascinating, and sometimes enigmatic, painting, with which he subtly deals with questions of applying and dripping paint onto, among other surfaces, laboriously created chalk grounds.

Piero Golia, (b. 1974, IT, lives in Los Angeles) who lives in the USA, is among the most independent-minded contemporary conceptual artists, continually challenging the systems and conditions of art and the expectations artists are subject to. In 2005 Golia co-founded the ‘Mountain School of Arts’ in Los Angeles, where students accepted learn and attend classes, without, for example, any student fees to pay; in 2013 he set up Chalet Hollywood – a form of club including loans and works by befriended artists – to enable an experience of art through conversations, shared meals and exchange, etc., in one place. In 2014, together with a group of art students, he reproduced the nose of George Washington, first president of the USA, from Mount Rushmore – and thus exposing the activity of art making as an act of theatre – but above all, to question the ability of art to generate community and a social fabric. Golia will realise a new work developed specially for the annex of the Kunsthaus Baselland for his first institutional showing in Switzerland.

 

PieroGolia_ChaletGrandFinale_2013_ph_BretRedman

Piero Golia
Chalet Grand Finale, 5th February 2016
photo: Bret Redman

28th August – 3rd September 2017

GUEST: INSTITUT KUNST HGK FHNW

Opening: Sunday 27th August, 11.30am

 

As is the case every year, the Institut Kunst publicly presents degree work by graduating students of the Hochschule für Gestaltung und Kunst FHWN. Not only to present the artists’ degree work to a broader public, but also in order to sustain ongoing dialogue with the city’s institutions and various contexts. The 2017 degree exhibition will take place at the Kunsthaus Baselland.

15th September – 12th November 2017

MARCIA HAFIF
MAJA RIEDER

Opening: Thursday 14th September, 6.30pm
Press preview: Wednesday 13th September, 11am
The Marcia Hafif exhibition is created in collaboration with the
Kunstmuseum St. Gallen

 

Marcia Hafif (b.1929, USA, living in New York and California) is among the pioneers of the 1970s who fundamentally broadened conceptions of the practice of Painting. Since the 1980s, terms like ‘Radical’ have been used to describe Hafif’s work with monochrome painting. The Pencil on Paper drawings, vertical pencil marks covering a surface, begun in 1972, led to the vertical stroke in paint, work in both mediums still continuing and fitting within what she calls The Inventory. Each series included in The Inventory develops a single medium using traditional methods and materials for making paint and preparing a ground. Each presents individual works in the series, larger or smaller, painted normally with vertical brush-strokes while investigating the effect of un-mixed colour on grounds appropriate to that medium. Works from these series, her most radical perhaps, will be exhibited at the Kunsthaus Baselland: the Black Paintings (1979/80) in which she sought black by layering ultramarine blue and burnt umber. In conjunction with the contemporaneous exhibition at the Kunstmuseum St. Gallen, this will be Marcia Hafif’s most extensive presentation in Switzerland to date, a long-awaited exhibition from an exceptional artist.

 

Marcia_Hafif

Marcia Hafif
Hafif painting Shade Paintings
New York studio
2013

Maja Rieder (b.1979, CH, lives in Basel) has consistently engaged with the question of how drawing can create a connection to space since she started making art. Rieder’s drawing is not a countour or a descriptive line, but the creation of concrete formulations, such as geometric basic forms in graphite – mostly in powder form –, through overlappings or folds of sheets of paper or long paper rolls. By overlaying, folding, as well as what is left out, uncovered and the paper fields that are thus left free, positive and negative forms and figures are created, some of which are installed across broad spaces by the artist, to effect the architectural space. This will be Maja Rieder’s largest exhibition to date; the artist will exhibit across the whole lower floor of the Kunsthaus Baselland.

26th November 2017 – 7th January 2018

REGIONALE 18

Opening: Saturday 25th November, 6.30pm

 

The exhibition Regionale is a cross-border project that is unique in this form. Nineteen institutions from three countries (CH, D, F) show artistic positions from the Basel region and the trinational region (Nordwestschweiz, Südbaden, Elsass) at the end of the year.

JAHRESPROGRAMM 2017

20. Januar bis 19. März 2017

DORIS LASCH
BIANCA PEDRINA

Eröffnung: Donnerstag, 19. Januar, 18.30 Uhr
Presserundgang: Mittwoch, 18. Januar, 11 Uhr

 

Im Rahmen ihrer ersten grossen institutionellen Einzelausstellung im Kunsthaus Baselland untersucht Doris Lasch (* 1972, DE, lebt und arbeitet in Basel) Formen der Bildproduktion. In einer Zeit, in der das fotografische Bild allgegenwärtig zu sein scheint und die Menge an fotografisch hergestellten und zugleich digital veränderten Bildern zunimmt, hinterfragt Lasch die Prozesse dieser Form des Bildergenerierens mit den Mitteln und Funktionsweisen der Fotografie. Auf unterschiedliche Weisen werden Momente respektive Möglichkeiten der Bildentstehung in das Ausstellungssetting integriert. Zwischen Installation, Intervention und Skulptur inszeniert Doris Lasch Formen und Fragmente einer fotografischen Sprache in den Räumen des Kunsthaus Baselland und nimmt auf die umgebende Architektur des Ausstellungsraumes Bezug.

 

Doris_Lasch

Doris Lasch
2016

 

Bianca Pedrina (* 1985, CH, lebt und arbeitet in Wien) setzt sich in ihrem fotografischen Werk konstant mit dem Vorgang der visuellen Wahrnehmung auseinander. Oft ist es die Gattung der Architektur und deren Geschichte, welcher sie formal und inhaltlich nachspürt. Zentral für ihre Arbeit ist die Frage nach der Beziehung zwischen dem Betrachter und seiner unmittelbaren Umgebung sowie nach dem Wahrheitsanspruch an die Fotografie im Allgemeinen. In ihrem vielschichtigen Werk, in dem sie unterschiedliche Medien wie Fotografie, Film, aber auch Skulptur und Installation nutzt, geht Pedrina der Frage nach, wie ein Werk die Eigenheiten des Mediums Fotografie und somit den Zusammenhang zwischen Abbildung und Realität thematisieren kann. Die Ausstellung im Kunsthaus Baselland wird die bisher grösste institutionelle Einzelausstellung von Pedrina sein, die zuletzt im Amerika-Haus (C/O Berlin) ihr Werk einem grösseren Publikum vorstellen konnte.

Freitag, 20. Januar: Kunsthaus Baselland @Museumsnacht Basel

20. März bis 31. Dezember 2017

DANIEL GÖTTIN

Jahresaussenprojekt Kunsthaus Baselland 2017
Eröffnung: Sonntag, 19. März, 11.30 Uhr 

 

Daniel Göttin (* 1959, CH), der seit Langem in Basel lebt und tätig ist, wird mit dem Jahresaussenprojekt für das Kunsthaus Baselland einen überraschenden Einblick in sein Werk ermöglichen, das vielen allein unter den Begriffen konkret oder auch minimalistisch bekannt ist. Göttin, der gerade in den letzten Jahren vielfach in grossen internationalen Gruppen- und Einzelausstellungen, vornehmlich in Japan, Australien und den USA eingeladen und präsent war, wird „ein Stück Welt“ nach Muttenz ins bzw. ans Kunsthaus Baselland bringen.

31. März bis 16. Juli 2017

ITZIAR OKARIZ

Eröffnung mit Live-Performance: Donnerstag, 30. März 2017, 18.30 Uhr
Pressekonferenz: Mittwoch, 29. März, 11 Uhr
In Kooperation mit dem CA2M. Centro de Arte Dos de Mayo, Madrid,
und Tabakalera. Centro Internacional de Cultura Contemporánea, San Sebastián

 

Itziar Okariz (* 1965, ES, lebt in Bilbao und Madrid) gehört seit Längerem zu den internationalen wichtigen Performance-KünstlerInnen, die sich speziell mit Themen wie Gender und Sprache befassen und dabei der Bedeutung von Worten und Texten im Verhältnis zum eigenen Körper nachgehen. Eine breite Wahrnehmung erlangte ihr Werk nach Live-Auftritten u. a. im Guggenheim Museum Bilbao, im Museo Nacional Centro de Arte Reina Sofía in Madrid oder auch in den Strassen von New York, nachdem sie viele Jahre in der Metropole verbracht hatte.

Die Einzelausstellung im Kunsthaus Baselland – die erste Präsentation ihres Werkes in der Schweiz und die erste Überblicksausstellung über ihr Werk überhaupt – wird einen speziellen Einblick in das vielschichtige Schaffen von Itziar Okariz geben, darunter auch Live-Performances und grössere Soundarbeiten. Weitere Stationen werden im Anschluss das CA2M. Centro de Arte Dos de Mayo in Madrid und das Tabakalera. Centro Internacional de Cultura Contemporánea in San Sebastián sein. Gemeinsam wird ein umfassender Katalog zum Schaffen von Okariz entstehen.

Itziar_Okaris

Itziar Okariz
Irrintzi Repetition (Mute)
2009

28. April bis 16. Juli 2017

MARKUS AMM
PIERO GOLIA

Eröffnung: Donnerstag, 27. April, 18.30 Uhr
Presserundgang: Mittwoch, 26. April, 11 Uhr

 

Der Künstler Markus Amm (* 1969, DE, lebt in Genf) wurde international bekannt u. a. durch seine Teilnahme an grösseren Gruppenausstellungen zur Malerei, wie etwa 2014 Variations: Conversations In And Around Abstract Painting im Los Angeles County Museum of Art, Los Angeles, CA, oder 2008 Triumph of Painting 4: Germania in der Saatchi Gallery, London. Zentral bei diesen grossen Überblicksausstellungen stand die Frage, was Malerei heute sein und leisten kann. Im Kunsthaus Baselland wird Amm, der viele Jahre in London tätig war und nun in Genf arbeitet und lebt, seine erste umfangreiche Werkpräsentation in der Schweiz realisieren. Der Künstler wird einen Überblick über seine faszinierenden, bisweilen auch rätselhaften Malereien ermöglichen, mit denen er auf subtile Weise, Fragen nach Farbauftrag und -verläufen auf u.a. eigens von ihm aufwändig hergestellten Kreidegrundierungen als Bildträgern verhandelt.

Der in Los Angeles, USA, lebende italienische Künstler Piero Golia (*1974) zählt zu den eigenwilligsten zeitgenössischen Konzeptkünstlern, die konsequent die Systeme und Bedingungen der Kunst, aber auch die Erwartungen hinterfragen, die an die KünstlerInnen gestellt werden. Im Jahr 2005 begründete Golia die „Mountain School of Arts“ in Los Angeles mit, in welcher die Studierenden lernen und Unterricht nehmen können, ohne Studiengebühren zahlen zu müssen; 2013 realisierte er das Chalet Hollywood – eine Art Club mit Leihgaben und Arbeiten von befreundeten KünstlerInnen, welcher als Ort der Kunsterfahrung durch Gespräche, gemeinsames Essen, Austausch usw. dient. Oder: Mit einer Gruppe von Kunststudierenden bildete er im Jahr 2014 die Nase des ersten US-Präsidenten George Washington vom Mount Rushmore nach und stellte somit das Kunstmachen als theatralischen Akt dar – vor allem aber hinterfragte er damit, wie fähig die Kunst ist, eine Gemeinschaft und ein soziales Gefüge auszubilden. Für seine erste institutionelle Ausstellung in der Schweiz wird Golia ein neues, eigens für den Anbau des Kunsthauses Baselland entwickeltes Werk schaffen.

 

PieroGolia_ChaletGrandFinale_2013_ph_BretRedman

Piero Golia
Chalet Grand Finale, 5. Februar 2016
Foto: Bret Redman

28. August bis 3. September 2017

ZU GAST: INSTITUT KUNST HGK FHNW

Eröffnung, Sonntag, 27. August, 11.30 Uhr

 

Wie in jedem Jahr stellt das Institut Kunst der Hochschule für Gestaltung und Kunst FHWN die Diplomarbeiten der Absolvierenden öffentlich aus. Und dies nicht nur, um die Abschlussarbeiten der KünstlerInnen einem grösseren Publikum zu präsentieren, sondern auch, um im ständigen Dialog mit Institutionen und verschiedenen Kontexten der Stadt zu sein. Die Diplomausstellung 2017 findet im Kunsthaus Baselland statt.

15. September bis 12. November 2017

MARCIA HAFIF
MAJA RIEDER

Eröffnung: Donnerstag, 14. September, 18.30 Uhr
Presserundgang: Mittwoch, 13. September, 11 Uhr
Die Ausstellung von Marcia Hafif entsteht in Kooperation mit dem
Kunstmuseum St. Gallen

 

Marcia Hafif (*1929, USA, lebt in New York und Kalifornien) ist eine der grossen VorreiterInnen, die in den 1970er Jahren die Vorstellungen von der Praktik des Malens und des Kunstverständnisses an sich um grundlegend neue Perspektiven erweitert haben. Seit den 1980er Jahren werden Begriffe wie „radikal“ verwendet, um Hafifs Arbeit mit monochromer Malerei zu beschreiben. Die Zeichnungen auf Papier – vertikale, flächendeckende Bleistiftstriche – nahmen im Jahr 1972 ihren Anfang und führten zum vertikalen Strich in Farbe. Das Arbeiten in beiden Medien setzt sich noch immer fort und passt in das, was sie als The Inventory bezeichnet. Jede Serie in The Inventory entwickelt ein Medium – unter Verwendung traditioneller Methoden und Materialien für die Herstellung von Farbe und die Vorbereitung des Untergrunds. Die einzelnen Arbeiten der Serie sind mal grösser, mal kleiner, und entstehen normalerweise durch vertikale Pinselstriche, mit denen der Effekt von ungemischter Farbe auf geeigneten Malgründen ausgelotet wird. Das Kunsthaus Baselland zeigt u.a. Werke aus diesen Serien, die vielleicht ihre radikalsten sind: die Black Paintings (1979/80), in denen sie durch das Überlagern von Ultramarinblau und Umbrabraun zu Schwarz gelangte. In Verbindung mit der zeitgleichen Werkschau im Kunstmuseum St. Gallen ist dies Marcia Hafifs bis dato umfangreichste Präsentation in der Schweiz und die lang erwartete Ausstellung einer aussergewöhnlichen Künstlerin.

 

Marcia_Hafif

Marcia Hafif
Hafif painting Shade Paintings
New York studio
2013

Maja Rieder ( *1979, CH, lebt in Basel) beschäftigt sich seit Anbeginn ihres Schaffens konsequent mit der Frage, wie die Zeichnung mit dem Raum eine Verbindung eingehen kann. Bei Rieder ist es nicht die Kontur oder beschreibende Linie, sondern die Schaffung von konkreten Formulierungen, etwa von geometrischen Grundformen mit Grafit – meist in Pulverform –, Überlagerungen oder auch Faltungen von Papierblättern oder grossen Bahnen. Durch das Übereinanderlegen, das Falten, aber auch das Aussparen, Abdecken und dadurch Freilassen von Papierfeldern entstehen Positiv-Negativ-Formen und -Figuren, die von der Künstlerin teilweise über weite Raumpartien installiert werden und auf den architektonischen Raum einwirken können. Es wird der bislang grösste Auftritt von Maja Rieder sein, die für ihre Einzelausstellung das gesamte untere Geschoss des Kunsthaus Baselland einnehmen wird.

26. November 2017 bis 7. Januar 2018

REGIONALE 18

Eröffnung: Samstag, 25. November, 18.30 Uhr

 

Die Ausstellung Regionale ist ein grenzüberschreitendes Projekt, das in dieser Form einzigartig ist. Neunzehn Institutionen aus drei Ländern (CH, D, F) zeigen künstlerische Positionen aus der Region Basel und des trinationalen Gebietes (Nordwestschweiz, Südbaden, Elsass).