Künstler:

Jan van der Ploeg

27th May – 17th July 2016

Events: See Events for the event and education programme

The trailer of the exhibitions of Christiane Löhr, Jonathan Monk and Jan van der Ploeg you find here.

 

On the works of Jan van der Ploeg

Jan van der Ploeg is accustomed to working large scale. The artist, born in 1959 in Amsterdam where he still works, has for many years been one of the best-known artists in the field of wall-drawing and painting. His works can be experienced from Australia and Japan to Europe and the USA, some permanent works, some temporary pieces. For his first institutional appearance in Switzerland he has developed two new bodies of work which take up several hundred square metres of the Kunsthaus ground level.

On entering the Kunsthaus the visitor is immediately met by a form, which accompanies them on their route through the spaces of the ground floor. The form is sometimes halved, sometimes entire, and Jan van der Ploeg describes it as ‘grip’; depending on its positioning and execution it is reminiscent of an opening like a handle that you might find on a cardboard box. But the form also affords the eye a pause, activating parts of the space that otherwise do not impose them-selves on the eye. It has a lot to do with the deep black acrylic colour selected and the perfection of its realisation that the forms painted on the wall appear like large holes within the sequence of walls, underlining the sculptural aspects already present in the existing Kunsthaus architecture of the staircase and the various spaces that lead from it.

Above all it is about the effect of form and colour within an existing building fabric, the artist de-scribes. How the placement of these can change and simultaneously activate the appreciation and experience of existing architecture can be seen right now with Wall Painting 423 at the Kunsthaus, in which van der Ploeg settles exclusively on black tonal values and white absences. With the focus on the large wall that stands in the back area of the Kunsthaus on which – as if a kind of large painting – the chosen forms unite as one, the whole weighting of the space seems to shift for the viewer walking through.

In the Kunsthaus Baselland’s long annex, which measures more than 30 metres, there are, on the other hand, 18 colours, some fluorescent, which seem to break the tunnel-like structure of the space with bright, vertical channels. It is the very proximity of colour values, some chosen by the artist, some he mixed himself, that brings about the astonishing effect within the Kunsthaus’s spaces, one which is already visible from outside and which changes the whole effect of the space’s structure. Walking slowly along the bands of colour and considering their effect gives the impression of the wall as a shimmering membrane.

As different as these two large work complexes at the Kunsthaus Baselland are, they both show the great potential of Jan van der Ploeg’s work: to generate a dynamic dialogue with a given situation and to make transitions between wall drawing, painting, sculpture and architecture be-come fluid.

 

 

Short biography

Education

1980–1982 Gerrit Rietveld Academie, Amsterdam (NL)

1982–1983 Croydon College of Art, London (UK)

1983–1985 Rijksakademie van Beeldende Kunsten, Amsterdam (NL)

 

Most recent solo exhibitions (a selection):

2016: Kunsthaus Baselland, Basel; Taubert Contemporary, Berlin (D); 2015: Forever More, Gerhard Hofland Gallery, Amsterdam (NL); A couch to match the painting (with Henk Stallinga), Nieuw Dakota, Amsterdam (NL); Lyrics (with Riette Wanders), Boeske & Hofland, Leipzig (D); GRIP Land art project, NP3, Groningen (NL); GRIP Land art project, Atelier aan de Middendijk, Groningen (NL); Warriors (with Jeena Shin and Selina Foote), Two Rooms, Auckland (NZ); Jan van der Ploeg, Taubert Contemporary, Berlin (D); 2014: Jan van der Ploeg, Sarah Cottier Gallery, Sydney (AUS); Hamish McKay Gallery, Wellington (NZ); Jan van der Ploeg, Giacomo Guidi Gallery, Rome (I); MW, Raygun Projects, Toowoomba (AUS); MOTI HOTEL II: Jan van der Ploeg, MOTI, Den Bosch (NL); WEINER WALL, Tetterode, Amsterdam (NL); Jan van der Ploeg, De Witte Arena – Amsterdam (NL); 2013: We Like Art Walls, Object Rotterdam 2013, NAI – Rotterdam (NL); Androgynous Mind (with Riette Wanders), The Classroom Gallery, Nottingham (UK); Brendan Fowler Wall, Shane Campbell Gallery, Oakpark (USA); MWMW, Gerhard Hofland Gallery, Amsterdam (NL); PINK MOON, NASA, Amsterdam (NL); SUPER PLUS, Klaus Benden, Köln (D); Jan van der Ploeg, SNAP, Lyon (F); MWMW, Taubert Gallery, Berlin (D); WALLPAINTING No. 370, Schünck, Heerlen (NL); 2012: Wim van Krimpen, Amsterdam (NL) (with Babs Haenen); Human After All (with Bob Waardenburg), Kers gallery, Amsterdam (NL); Hamish McKay Gallery, Wellington (NZ); Dunedin Public Art Gallery, Dunedin (NZ); 2011: Ruth Leuchter, Düsseldorf (D); All Systems Go!, Introducing, Galerie West, Den Haag (NL)

Jan van der Ploeg, Artist`s studio 2016.

Jan van der Ploeg. Photo: zVg

Künstler:

Jan van der Ploeg

27. Mai bis 17. Juli 2016

Events: Veranstaltungs- und Vermittlungsprogramm siehe unter Events.

Ausstellungstrailer zu Christiane Löhr, Jonathan Monk und Jan van der Ploeg.

 

Zu den Arbeiten von Jan van der Ploeg

Jan van der Ploeg ist es gewohnt, in grossen Dimensionen zu arbeiten. Der 1959 in Amsterdam geborene und dort arbeitende Künstler gilt seit Längerem als einer der international bekanntesten Künstler im Bereich der Wandzeichnung und Wandmalerei. Seine Werke sind von Australien über Japan bis Europa und den USA teils als permanente Werke, teils als temporäre zu erfahren. Für seinen ersten institutionellen Auftritt in der Schweiz hat er nun zwei Werkkomplexe entwic-kelt, die mehrere Hundert Quadratmeter im Erdgeschoss des Kunsthauses einnehmen.

Gleich beim Eintreten in das Kunsthaus wird der Besucher auf seinem Gang durch die Räumlich-keiten im Erdgeschoss von einer Form begleitet, mal halbiert, mal als volle Form, die Jan van der Ploeg mit „grip“, übersetzt „Griff“, beschreibt und – je nach Positionierung und Ausführung – an eine Öffnung wie einen Handgriff, etwa bei Kartons, erinnert. Aber auch dem Auge bietet die Form Halt und aktiviert Raumteile, die sich dem Auge sonst weniger aufdrängen. Es hat viel mit der gewählten, tiefschwarzen Acrylfarbe und der Perfektion der Ausführung zu tun, dass die auf die Wand gemalten Formen optisch wie grosse Löcher innerhalb der Wandabwicklungen er-scheinen und das ohnehin vorhandene Skulpturale der bestehenden Kunsthausarchitektur von Treppenanlage und diversen Einbauten unterstreichen.

Es gehe ihm vor allem um die Wirkung von Form und Farbe innerhalb eines bestehenden Gefü-ges, beschreibt der Künstler. Wie sehr diese Setzungen die Wahrnehmung und auch Erfahrung einer bestehenden Architektur auch verändern und zugleich auch aktivieren können, zeigt sich eben gerade bei der Wandzeichnung No. 423 im Kunsthaus, bei der van der Ploeg ausschliess-lich auf die Tonwerte Schwarz bzw. weisse Leerlassungen setzt. Mit einer Fokussierung auf die grosse, im hinteren Raumbereich des Kunsthauses stehende Wand, auf der – als eine Art grosses Gemälde – die gewählten Formen als ein Grosses zusammenkommen, verändert sich für den Durchschreitenden scheinbar die gesamte Gewichtung innerhalb des Raumes.

Im langen Annex des Kunsthaus Baselland, der mehr als 30 Meter fasst, sind es wiederum 18 kräftige, teils fluoreszierende Farben, die in breiten vertikalen Bahnen die tunnelgleiche Struktur des Raumes zu durchbrechen scheinen. Gerade das Nebeneinander bestimmter, vom Künstler gewählter oder auch eigens gemischter Farbwerte bedingt die erstaunliche Wirkung der innerhalb des Raumkomplexes des Kunsthauses, der bereits von aussen einsehbar ist und die gesamte Wirkung der Raumstruktur verändert. Gerade im langsamen Abschreiten der Farbbahnen und in der Wahrnehmung ihrer Wirkung stellt sich der Eindruck der Wand als eine flirrende Membran ein.

So unterschiedlich diese beiden grossen Werkkomplexe im Kunsthaus Baselland sind, zeigen sie doch beide das grosse Potenzial der Arbeiten von Jan van der Ploeg: einen spannungsreichen Dialog mit der gegebenen Situation herzustellen und die Übergänge zwischen Wandzeichnung, Malerei, Skulptur und Architektur fliessend werden zu lassen.

 

 

Kurzbiografie

1959 geboren, lebt in Amsterdam. 1980–1982 Gerrit Rietveld Academie, Amsterdam (NL), 1982–1983 Croydon College of Art, London (UK), 1983–1985 Rijksakademie van Beeldende Kunsten, Amsterdam (NL)

 

Jüngste Ausstellungsprojekte (Auswahl):

2016: Kunsthaus Baselland, Basel; Taubert Contemporary, Berlin (D); 2015: Forever More, Gerhard Hofland Gallery, Amsterdam (NL); A couch to match the painting (with Henk Stallinga), Nieuw Dakota, Amsterdam (NL); Lyrics (with Riette Wanders), Boeske & Hofland, Leipzig (D); GRIP Land art project, NP3, Groningen (NL); GRIP Land art project, Atelier aan de Middendijk, Groningen (NL); Warriors (with Jeena Shin and Selina Foote), Two Rooms, Auckland (NZ); Jan van der Ploeg, Taubert Contemporary, Berlin (D); 2014: Jan van der Ploeg, Sarah Cottier Gallery, Sydney (AUS); Hamish McKay Gallery, Wellington (NZ); Jan van der Ploeg, Giacomo Guidi Gallery, Rome (I); MW, Raygun Projects, Toowoomba (AUS); MOTI HOTEL II: Jan van der Ploeg, MOTI, Den Bosch (NL); WEINER WALL, Tetterode, Amsterdam (NL); Jan van der Ploeg, De Witte Arena – Amsterdam (NL); 2013: We Like Art Walls, Object Rotterdam 2013, NAI – Rotterdam (NL); Androgynous Mind (with Riette Wanders), The Classroom Gallery, Nottingham (UK); Brendan Fowler Wall, Shane Campbell Gallery, Oakpark (USA); MWMW, Gerhard Hofland Gallery, Amsterdam (NL); PINK MOON, NASA, Amsterdam (NL); SUPER PLUS, Klaus Benden, Köln (D); Jan van der Ploeg, SNAP, Lyon (F); MWMW, Taubert Gallery, Berlin (D); WALLPAINTING No. 370, Schünck, Heerlen (NL); 2012: Wim van Krimpen, Amsterdam (NL) (with Babs Haenen); Human After All (with Bob Waardenburg), Kers gallery, Amsterdam (NL); Hamish McKay Gallery, Wellington (NZ); Dunedin Public Art Gallery, Dunedin (NZ); 2011: Ruth Leuchter, Düsseldorf (D); All Systems Go!, Introducing, Galerie West, Den Haag (NL)

Jan van der Ploeg, Artist`s studio 2016.

Jan van der Ploeg. Foto: zVg