Künstler:

Rossella Biscotti

20 April – 16 July 2018

Opening: Thursday 19 April, 6.30 pm

The City

For her solo presentation at the Kunsthaus Baselland, Rossella Biscotti premiers her five-channel video installation The City, 2018, on her extensive research and filming of the Çatalhöyük archaeological site, Konya, Turkey. Biscotti investigates the relationship between the neolithic community that built the earliest urban centre known to date and the archeological community that has been unearthing it over the past twenty-five years. This is Biscotti’s first solo exhibition in Switzerland.

Does the study of ancient artefacts and cultures provide a mirror with which we can consider the subjective values held by researchers in their own society? Biscotti worked closely with Ian Hodder, leader of the Çatalhöyük Research Project and Professor of Social Anthropology at Stanford University, and his international team, filming during the 2015 and 2016 excavation seasons. Since 1993, Hodder, one of the key thinkers of the post-processual school, has put his ideas to the test at Çatalhöyük. These include decentralised project management teams, self-reflective and diaristic reporting, co-authorship and data sharing and an understanding of the site as a living community uniting both professional agents and local actors. When on site, Biscotti recorded how these methods were activated in order to study an ancient people whose own community underwent various radical socio-economic changes.

Inhabited for a period of almost 2,000 years (circa 7500 to 5700 BC), Çatalhöyük has eighteen layers of occupation and was once home to a “proto-city” of nearly 10,000 people centred on a honeycomb maze-like complex of shared buildings that grew both out of and on top of each other. The film looks in particular at these urban forms in which distinctions between public and private were rather fluid, while also investigating the site’s complex burial rituals in which the dead were interred amongst the living. Likewise, evidence of the division of labour, between what was produced where and by whom on the site, seems to suggest a society with little to no social or gender stratification. These organisational principles, which show how another, possibly more liberated form of society functioned, are contrasted with the dig’s modern context in order to consider how our own social constructions have also advanced.

The 2016 season stopped abruptly due to the attempted military coup d’état in Turkey. The season would be the last of Ian Hodder’s twenty-five-year project. Rossella Biscotti was then on the first day of her second year’s filming and she adjusted her script to record the bureaucracy of closing the site, the meetings, the departure of the community and the empty landscape that remained.

In her multi-media practice, cutting across filmmaking, performance and sculpture, Biscotti explores and reconstructs obscured moments from recent times, often against a backdrop of state institutions. The site of investigation tends to leave its mark on her sculptures and installations as she composes new stories from personal encounters and oral interrogations. By examining the relevance of the recovered material from a contemporary perspective, Biscotti sensitively weaves a link with the present.

Rossella Biscotti was born in 1978 in Molfetta, Italy. For the past decade she has been living and working between the Netherlands and her research sites. Artists-in-Berlin Programme, DAAD, Berlin (2018).

Selected Solo Exhibitions: V-A-C Foundation at Gulag Museum, Moscow (2016), Museion, Bozen (2015), Haus Lange and Haus Esters, Krefeld, WIELS, Brussels and Sculpture Center, New York (2014) e-flux, New York and Secession, Vienna (2013), and CAC, Vilnius (2012).

Selected group exhibitions: Contour Biennial 8, Mechelen, Moderna Museet, Stockholm and Stedelijk Museum, Amsterdam (2017), Swiss Institute in New York and Van Abbemuseum, Eindhoven (2016), Irish Museum of Modern Art, Dublin (2015), ICA London (2014), MAXXI, Rome, Witte de With, Rotterdam and Museu Serralves, Porto (2010).

Biscotti has taken part in major international exhibitions including the 55th Venice Biennale and the 13th Istanbul Biennale (2013), dOCUMENTA 13 (2012) and Manifesta 9 (2012).

The exhibition is kindly supported by the Mondriaan Fund. The City is produced in cooperation with Protocinema, Istanbul.

Rossella Biscotti is represented by Wilfried Lentz Gallery, Rotterdam and mor charpentier, Paris. 

 

Rossella Biscotti, The City (still), 2015/2018

Künstler:

Rossella Biscotti

20. April bis 16. Juli 2018

Vernissage: Donnerstag, 19. April 2018, 18.30 Uhr

The City

Zu ihrer Einzelausstellung im Kunsthaus Baselland führt Rossella Biscotti erstmals ihre Fünf-Kanal- Videoinstallation The City (2018) vor, die uns einen Einblick in ihre umfassenden Recherche- und Filmarbeiten über die archäologische Ausgrabungsstätte Çatalhöyük im türkischen Konya gewährt.

Biscotti untersucht darin die Beziehung zwischen der neolithischen Bevölkerung, die das früheste bis dato bekannte Stadtzentrum der Welt errichtete, und der archäologischen Gemeinschaft, die es im Lauf der vergangenen 25 Jahre zu Tage gefördert hat. Für die Künstlerin ist dies die erste Einzelausstellung in der Schweiz.

Bietet uns das Studium antiker Objekte und Kulturen einen Spiegel, in dem wir die subjektiven Werte der Forscher in ihrer eigenen Gesellschaft betrachten können? Biscotti arbeitete eng mit Ian Hodder, Professor für Sozialanthropologie an der Stanford Universität und Leiter des Forschungsprojekts Çatalhöyük, und seinem internationalen Team zusammen. Sie filmte während der Ausgrabungskampagnen in den Jahren 2015 und 2016. Hodder, einer der Vordenker der postprozessualen Archäologie, hatte seine Ideen schon seit 1993 in Çatalhöyük ausgetestet. Dazu zählten dezentralisierte Projektmanagementteams, selbstreflexives und tagebuchartiges Berichten, gemeinsame Autorschaft, das Teilen von Daten und das Betrachten der Ausgrabungsstätte als lebendige Gemeinschaft, die Fachleute und Ortansässige zusammenbringt. Vor Ort hielt Biscotti fest, wie diese Methoden zur Erforschung eines antiken Volkes um- und eingesetzt wurden, dessen eigene Gemeinschaft diverse radikale sozioökonomische Veränderungen erfahren hatte.

Das über einen Zeitraum von annähernd 2.000 Jahren (ca. 7.500–5.700 v. Chr.) bewohnte Çatalhöyük lässt 18 verschiedene Schichten der Besetzung erkennen und beherbergte einst eine „Proto-Stadt“ mit fast 10.000 Einwohnern. Angelegt war diese in einem wabenförmigen, labyrinthartigen Gefüge mit gemeinsam genutzten Gebäuden, die sowohl aus- als auch aufeinander gewachsen waren. Der Film beschäftigt sich insbesondere mit diesen urbanen Formen, in denen das Öffentliche und Private relativ fliessend ineinander übergingen, aber auch mit den komplexen Bestattungsritualen, bei denen die Toten inmitten der Lebenden begraben wurden. Darüber hinaus beleuchtet die Künstlerin Indizien der Arbeitsteilung: Was wo und von wem an diesem Ort produziert wurde, legt eine Gesellschaft mit einer geringen bis inexistenten Schichtung nach gesellschaftlichem Status und Geschlecht nahe. Diese organisatorischen Grundsätze, die zeigen, wie eine andere, womöglich freiere Form von Gesellschaft funktioniert haben könnte, werden dem modernen Kontext der Ausgrabungsstätte gegenübergestellt und regen uns zum Nachdenken über die Entwicklung unserer eigenen sozialen Konstrukte an.

Die Ausgrabungskampagne 2016 fand mit dem Putschversuch in der Türkei ein abruptes Ende und sollte die letzte in Ian Hodders 25 Jahre währendem Projekt sein. Rossella Biscotti hatte zu jenem Zeitpunkt gerade den ersten Tag ihrer Filmarbeiten im zweiten Jahr aufgenommen und stellte ihr Skript nun um. Im Zentrum standen nachfolgend die Bürokratie, die mit der Schliessung der Ausgrabungsstätte einherging, die Meetings, die Abreise des Forscherteams und die leere Landschaft, die schlussendlich zurückblieb.

Rossella Biscotti nutzt eine medienübergreifende Montagetechnik aus Film, Performance und Skulptur, um obskure Momente aus jüngerer Zeit zu erforschen und zu rekonstruieren – häufig vor der Kulisse staatlicher Institutionen. Während sie ihre persönlichen Begegnungen und mündlichen Befragungen zu neuen Geschichten verwebt, hinterlässt auch der Ort ihrer Untersuchungen mitunter seine Spuren an ihren Skulpturen und Installationen. Biscotti hinterfragt die Bedeutung des wiederverwerteten Materials aus einer zeitgenössischen Perspektive und stellt somit eine wahrnehmbare Verbindung zum Jetzt her.

Rossella Biscotti wurde 1978 in Molfetta (IT) geboren. In den letzten zehn Jahren lebte und arbeitete sie zwischen den Niederlanden und ihren Forschungsstätten. Es ist ihre erste institutionelle Einzelausstellung in der Schweiz.

Einzelausstellungen (Auswahl): V-A-C Foundation at Gulag Museum, Moscow (2016), Museion, Bozen (2015), Haus Lange and Haus Esters, Krefeld, WIELS, Brussels and Sculpture Center, New York (2014) e-flux, New York and Secession, Vienna (2013), and CAC, Vilnius (2012).

Gruppenausstellungen (Auswahl): Contour Biennial 8, Mechelen, Moderna Museet, Stockholm and Stedelijk Museum, Amsterdam (2017), Swiss Institute in New York and Van Abbemuseum, Eindhoven (2016), Irish Museum of Modern Art, Dublin (2015), ICA London (2014), MAXXI, Rome, Witte de With, Rotterdam and Museu Serralves, Porto (2010).

Rossella Biscotti nahm an internationalen Ausstellungen teil, u. a. der 55. Biennale in Venedig (2013), 13. Istanbul Biennale (2013), dOCUMENTA 13 (2012) und Manifesta 9 (2012).

Förderungen/Preise (Auswahl): Grosser Preis der Stadt Genf auf der 12. Biennale de l’Image en Mouvement (2007); Premio Italia / MAXXI, Rom (2010); Mies van der Rohe-Stipendium, Krefeld (2014); Berlin Artists-in-Residence-Programme, DAAD, Berlin (2018).

Für die substantielle Unterstützung der Ausstellung von Rossella Biscotti danken wir der Mondriaan-Stiftung. The City wurde in Zusammenarbeit mit Protocinema, Istanbul, produziert.

Rossella Biscotti wird vertreten von Wilfried Lentz Rotterdam und mor charpentier Paris.

Rossella Biscotti, The City (still), 2017/18

Rossella Biscotti, Foto: Serge Hasenböhler