Places of Longing

25 January – 2 April 2018

 

amongst others, Teresa Hubbard / Alexander Birchler,
Max Philipp Schmid,
Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger
and Monica Studer / Christoph van den Berg

 

 

Opening: Wednesday 24 January 2018, 6.30 pm

Press preview: Tuesday 23 January, 9 am and 12 noon

What could our places of longing be? What identifies them and what might endanger them? What accords with our personal image of an extraordinary day, an unusual experience of nature or a paradisiac state, for us or other beings? Can we find this amid the quotidian? In the most varied manner selected video works investigate this question of the societal and individual longing for an ideal place of being oneself.

 

Teresa Hubbard / Alexander Birchler
Eight (2001)
HD video with sound / Duration: 3 min 35 sec, loop / Courtesy the
Artists, Tanya Bonakdar Gallery, New York, Vera Munro Gallery,
Hamburg and Lora Reynolds Gallery, Austin. Copyright © Teresa
Hubbard / Alexander Birchler

The video work Eight already references in its title both what is to be told here as well as the structure of its narrative. It apparently revolves around the (eighth) birthday of a girl — and this in an endless loop. The camera is in a continuous dolly movement, only interrupted by two short editing sequences, from the interior of a house to the outside yard and back. The localization of and transition between interior and exterior here remain just as unresolved as do the starting and termination points of the narrative. The girl is oscillating back and forth through these ambiguous states. Having arrived in the rainy, nocturnal yard, she approaches the remnants of the drenched party and cuts herself a piece of the birthday cake. Yet before she can take a bite, the girl has already arrived back in the house, only to recommence her journey back outside. At the point where the bounds between inside and outside — sheltered home and stormy world — are traversed by the girl, the spatial order has already been reversed. Eight marks a passage of the girl leaving the ‘shelter’ of childhood and becoming an adolescent. Eight was shot on location in Austin, Texas in 2001.

Teresa Hubbard / Alexander Birchler
Eighteen (2013)
UHD video with sound / Duration: 15 min 50 sec, itinerant loop /
Courtesy the Artists, Tanya Bonakdar Gallery, New York, Vera Munro
Gallery, Hamburg and Lora Reynolds Gallery, Austin. Copyright ©
Teresa Hubbard / Alexander Birchler. Eighteen was made possible
through the generous support of the Linda Pace Foundation.

A decade after creating Eight, Hubbard / Birchler began searching for the child actor, whom they had cast for the role of the girl in Eight. Locating her in Boston, the child actor has grown up to become a contemporary dancer. Eighteen picks up on the same character in a scene of her eighteenth birthday party. As in the work Eight, Hubbard / Birchler have developed a narrative perspective that is unsettled, does not come to closure and oscillates between adolescence and adulthood. As the protagonist journeys from one place to another, linear time, fact and fiction, and the solidity of physical shelter constantly slip around her. Steady, uninterrupted camera movements straddle constructed and actual locations, inside and outside, rain and sunshine, day and night, summer and winter. Eighteen incorporates three musical compositions, arranged and performed on guitar: the Gymnopédies by Erik Satie. Written for piano in 1888, these movements share a common structure and collectively are regarded as an important precursor to modern ambient music. Eighteen was shot on location in Austin, Texas in 2012.

The videos Eight and Eighteen by Teresa Hubbard / Alexander Birchler will be screened at different times. Eighteen: 25 January – 16 March 2018; Eight: 17 March – 2 April 2018.

 

Monica Studer / Christoph van den Berg
Wiese, 2005/2010
Realtime-Animation © Studer / van den Berg, Basel
Courtesy: Galerie Nicolas Krupp

We are familiar with this gaze — travelling over an Alpine flower meadow that bursts with spring, a meadow with grasses, different plants and stones. The gaze glides endlessly about, indulgently pursuing what it notices — on and on, with the expectation that this gaze will, soon, be lifted in order to see the horizon, the breadth of the landscape or an urban context. But this wish is never satisfied in Monica Studer / Christoph van den Berg’s work Wiese (Meadow). There is no swift survey of what has been seen, nor is there a final overview of the landscape which has just been travelled visually. So, almost longingly, the eye follows the real-time animation which Studer / van den Berg made using digital 3D computer game technology. The images are continually rendered afresh in real time. Flowers, grasses, stones and branches emerge repeatedly anew as 3D objects and lead us into infinite digital tracking shots through the fictitious landscape. Yes, you can lean back and enjoy this animation of time and movement, and be delighted by flora and fauna. Yet much as we are fascinated by how closely linked fiction and our perception of reality are, and how nature can also be enjoyed as a digital animation, a feeling of insecurity and discomfort is mixed in too. The gaze can never be raised from the ground to find out where this meadow leads. (IG)

 

Max Philipp Schmid
Paradies, 2015
HD video, ca. 15 min
with: Thomas Douglas; direction, editing, sound, photography: Max
Philipp Schmid; camera: Thomas Isler; set and costumes: Monika
Görner—Vogt; sound design: Knut Jensen; producer: Stella Händler
© Max Philipp Schmid / freihändler

P-A-R-A-D-I-E-S (PARADISE) spells out the protagonist in Max Philipp Schmid’s video work. Slowly, almost clumsily. Sitting in the middle of a greenhouse, the question quickly surfaces: what vision do we have of paradise or a paradisiac state? Is a little bit of nature tamed inside a greenhouse enough? And what about the everyday idylls we often try to arrange, with our perfectly designed and fenced front gardens, city greening or strange urban furnishings that sometimes have bizarre effects, but which do not nonetheless hide the facts of hard urban reality? The ‘hortus conclusus’, the enclosed and thus protected small garden seems to be evoked perennially, up and down the land, as an idealised refuge. In his video work Max Philipp Schmid carefully observes the everyday in order to enquire humorously and insightfully about how closely the general trend towards retreat and compartmentalisation is tied to an ideal of life in harmony with nature.

 

Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger
Schlaraffenland (Cockaigne), 2014
10 min 8 sec, loop
© Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger
Courtesy: Galerie Stampa, Basel
“Sie sind ja auch nur spirituelle Wesen, die
Erfahrungen eines Lebens als Huhn machen…“
Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger in conversation
with Ines Goldbach (in German).

 

 

Events

Vernissage: Esther Hunziker, Sehnsuchtsorte, Solo Position: Nicole A. Wietlisbach
Wednesday, 24. January 2018 | 18:30
Speeches: Marina Meijer, President Kunstverein Baselland Esther Roth, Head of kulturelles.bl Ines Goldbach, Director Kunsthaus Baselland

 

Sunday for families 
Sunday, 28. January 2018 | 11:00 – 17:00
Free entrance for families to the exhibition

 

Guided tour during lunch
Wednesday, 31. January 2018 | 12:15
with Christina Schmitt

 

Sunday for families
Sunday, 25. February 2018 | 11:00 – 17:00
Free entrance for families to the exhibition

 

Movie night #1
Wednesday, 21. March 2018 | 18:00 – 20:00
Artist talk and film screening of The Wild White With Dadi Wirz and Renatus Zürcher. Moderation Ines Goldbach

 

Sunday for families and workshop
Sunday, 25. March 2018 | 11:00 – 17:00
Free entrance for families to the exhibition
14:00 – 16:00 Family tour and workshop with artist Katharina A. Wieser. Fee 5 CHF / person. With family pass 4 CHF / person. Registration until 21.03.18.

 

Movie night #2 Catching the real
Wednesday, 28. March 2018 | 18:00 – 20:00
Selected film works. Introduced by Chantal Molleur, White Frame

 

Finissage
Monday, 2. April 2018 | 11:00 – 17:00
Easter Monday – opened the whole day with free entrance

 

Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger Schlaraffenland (Cockaigne) , 2014 10 min 8 sec, loop © Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger courtesy: Galerie Stampa, Basel
Teresa Hubbard / Alexander Birchler
 Eighteen (2013) UHD video with sound
 / Duration: 15 min 50 sec, loop
 Courtesy the Artists, Tanya Bonakdar Gallery, New York, Vera Munro Gallery, Hamburg and Lora Reynolds Gallery, Austin © Teresa Hubbard / Alexander Birchler Eighteen was made possible through the generous support of the Linda Pace Foundation
Max Philipp Schmid Paradies, 2015 HD Video with sound ca. 15 min mit: Thomas Douglas, Regie, Schnitt, Ton, Fotos: Max Philipp Schmid, Kamera: Thomas Isler, Ausstattung, Kostüm: Monika Görner-Vogt, Sounddesign: Knut Jensen, Produzentin: Stella Händler © Max Philipp Schmid
Monica Studer / Christoph van den Berg Wiese, 2005/2010 Realtime-Animation © Studer / van den Berg, Basel Courtesy: Galerie Nicolas Krupp

Sehnsuchtsorte

25. Januar bis 2. April 2018

 

u. a. von Teresa Hubbard / Alexander Birchler,
Max Philipp Schmid,
Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger
sowie Monica Studer / Christoph van den Berg

 

Vernissage: Mittwoch, 24. Januar 2018, 18.30 Uhr

Presserundgang: Dienstag, 23. Januar, 9 und 12 Uhr

 

Was können für uns Orte der Sehnsucht sein? Wodurch zeichnen sie sich aus und durch was können sie eine Brüchigkeit erfahren? Was entspricht unserer persönlichen Vorstellung von einem aussergewöhnlichen Tag, einem besonderen Naturerlebnis, paradiesischen Zuständen für uns oder auch andere Lebewesen? Können wir dies im Alltag finden? Auf unterschiedlichste Weise ergründen die ausgewählten Videoarbeiten diese Frage nach einer gesellschaftlichen und individuellen Sehnsucht und einem idealen Ort des eignen Seins.

Teresa Hubbard / Alexander Birchler
Eight (2001)
HD video with sound / Duration: 3 min 35 sec, loop / Courtesy the
Artists, Tanya Bonakdar Gallery, New York, Vera Munro Gallery,
Hamburg and Lora Reynolds Gallery, Austin. Copyright © Teresa
Hubbard / Alexander Birchler

Die Videoarbeit Eight verweist bereits im Titel auf das, was hier erzählt wird, wie auf die Struktur dieser Erzählung. Offenbar kreist sie um den (achten) Geburtstag eines Mädchens — und das in einer endlosen Schleife. Die Kamera fährt, unterbrochen nur von zwei kurzen Schnittfolgen, konstant vom Interieur eines Hauses in den Garten und wieder zurück. Die Verortung von sowie der Übergang zwischen innen und aussen sind dabei ebenso ungeklärt wie der Ausgangs- und Endpunkt der Erzählung. Zwischen diesen unklaren Verhältnissen pendelt das Mädchen hin und her. Im verregneten nächtlichen Garten angekommen, macht es sich an die Überreste der ins Wasser gefallenen Party heran und schneidet sich ein Stück von der Geburtstagstorte ab. Doch bevor es hineinbeissen kann, ist das Mädchen schon wieder im Haus angekommen, um von hieraus erneut seinen Weg nach draussen anzutreten. Wann immer es die Grenzen zwischen innen und aussen — behütetem Heim und stürmischer Welt — überschreitet, haben sich die räumlichen Ordnungen bereits verkehrt. Eight markiert einen Lebensabschnitt des Mädchens, das den «Zufluchtsort» der Kindheit verlässt und zur Heranwachsenden wird. Eight wurde 2001 in Austin, Texas gedreht.

Teresa Hubbard / Alexander Birchler
Eighteen (2013)
UHD video with sound / Duration: 15 min 50 sec, itinerant loop /
Courtesy the Artists, Tanya Bonakdar Gallery, New York, Vera Munro
Gallery, Hamburg and Lora Reynolds Gallery, Austin. Copyright ©
Teresa Hubbard / Alexander Birchler. Eighteen was made possible
through the generous support of the Linda Pace Foundation.

Ein Jahrzehnt nach der Entstehung von Eight 2001 begannen Hubbard / Birchler mit der Suche nach der Schauspielerin, die die Rolle des Mädchens in Eight verkörpert hatte. Sie fanden sie in Boston, wo sie in der Zwischenzeit als zeitgenössische Tänzerin lebte. Der Film Eighteen greift die gleiche Figur auf und zeigt sie in einer Szene während der Feier ihres 18. Geburtstags. Wie in Eight haben Hubbard / Birchler auch in dem neuen Film eine narrative Perspektive entwickelt, die unruhig ist und nicht zum Stillstand kommt, zugleich zwischen Adoleszenz und Erwachsensein oszillierend. Während die Protagonistin von einem Ort zum anderen reist, gleiten lineare Zeit, Tatsachen und Fiktion sowie die Beständigkeit des physischen Zufluchtsortes ständig um sie herum. Stetige, ununterbrochene Kamerabewegungen überspannen konstruierte und tatsächliche Orte, innen und aussen, Regen und Sonnenschein, Tag und Nacht, Sommer und Winter. Eighteen umfasst drei musikalische Kompositionen, die auf der Gitarre arrangiert und eingespielt wurden: die Gymnopédies von Erik Satie. Diese 1888 für Klavier komponierten Sätze haben eine gemeinsame Struktur und gelten als wichtige Wegbereiter der modernen Ambient-Musik. Eighteen wurde 2012 in Austin, Texas gedreht und in der Schweiz bislang erst einmal gezeigt: 2015 im Aargauer Kunsthaus Aarau im Rahmen der Ausstellung Nachtbilder.

Die beiden Filmbeiträge Eight und Eighteen von Teresa Hubbard / Alexander Birchler werden zu unterschiedlichen Zeiten im Kunsthaus Baselland gezeigt. Eighteen: 25. Januar — 16. März 2018; Eight: (17. März — 2. April 2018).

 

Monica Studer / Christoph van den Berg
Wiese, 2005/2010
Realtime-Animation © Studer / van den Berg, Basel
Courtesy: Galerie Nicolas Krupp

Wir kennen diesen Blick — er streift über eine frühlingshafte alpine Blumenwiese, mit Gräsern, unterschiedlichen Gewächsen, Gestein. Endlos gleitet der Blick, lässt sich verwöhnen von dem, was er erkennt — immer weiter, in der Erwartung darauf, dass sich der Blick bald heben mag und man den Horizont sieht, die Weite der Landschaft oder aber das urbane Umfeld. Diesen Wunsch jedoch erfüllt die Arbeit Wiese von Monica Studer / Christoph van den Berg nicht. Es ergibt sich kein schnelles Erfassen des Gesehenen und auch kein finaler Überblick über die Landschaft, die man soeben visuell betreten hat. Fast sehnsüchtig folgt das Auge daher der Realtime-Animation, bei der sich Studer / van den Berg der digitalen Technik des 3D-Computerspiels bedienen. In kontinuierlicher Echtzeit werden die Bilder immer wieder neu gerechnet. Blumen, Gräser, Steine und Geäst entstehen immer wieder neu als 3D-Objekte und führen hinein in eine ins endlos laufende digitale Kamerafahrt durch die fiktive Landschaft. Ja, man kann sich zurücklehnen und diese Animation von Zeit und Bewegung geniessen, sich von Flora und Fauna begeistern lassen. Doch so sehr die Faszination darüber herrschen mag, wie eng Fiktion mit Wahrheitsempfinden verbunden sein und Natur auch digital animiert genossen werden kann, so mischt sich darunter auch ein Gefühl von Unsicherheit und Unbehagen. Nie kann der Blick vom Boden abgelenkt werden, um doch erfahren zu können, wohin die Wiese einen führt. (IG)

 

Max Philipp Schmid
Paradies, 2015
HD-Video, ca. 15 Min.
mit: Thomas Douglas, Regie, Schnitt, Ton, Fotos: Max Philipp
Schmid, Kamera: Thomas Isler, Ausstattung, Kostüm: Monika
Görner-Vogt, Sounddesign: Knut Jensen, Produzentin: Stella
Händler © Max Philipp Schmid / freihändler

P-A-R-A-D-I-E-S buchstabiert der Protagonist in Max Philipp Schmids Videobeitrag. Langsam, fast etwas unbeholfen. Inmitten eines Gewächshauses sitzend, stellt sich rasch die Frage, welche Vorstellungen wir vom Paradies oder paradiesischen Zuständen haben. Reicht ein bisschen Natur, gezähmt in einem Gewächshaus? Und wie steht es mit dem alltäglichen Idyll, das wir uns oftmals einzurichten versuchen, mit umzäunten, perfekt gestalteten Vorgärten, Stadtbegrünung oder teilweise befremdlich wirkendem Stadtmobiliar, die dann doch nicht über die harte urbane Realität hinwegtäuschen können? Der «Hortus conclusus», das umzäunte und damit geschützte Gärtchen als idealisierter Rückzugsort, scheint — landauf, landab — immer wieder heraufbeschworen zu werden. Humorvoll und tiefgründig zugleich befragt Max Philipp Schmid in seiner Videoarbeit durch genaue Beobachtung des Alltäglichen, wie eng die allgegenwärtige Tendenz von Rückzug und Abschottung mit der Sehnsucht nach einem idealen, naturverbundenen Leben zusammenhängt.
(IG)

 

Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger
Schlaraffenland (Cockaigne), 2014
10 Min. 8 Sek., Loop
© Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger
Courtesy: Galerie Stampa, Basel
«Sie sind ja auch nur spirituelle Wesen, die
Erfahrungen eines Lebens als Huhn machen…»
Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger im Gespräch mit Ines Goldbach

 

 

 

 

Veranstaltungen

 

Vernissage: Esther Hunziker, Sehnsuchtsorte, Solo Position: Nicole A. Wietlisbach
Mittwoch, 24. Januar 2018 | 18:30
Begrüssung und Einführung: Marina Meijer, Präsidentin Kunstverein Baselland Esther Roth, Leiterin kulturelles.bl Ines Goldbach, Direktion Kunsthaus Baselland

 

Familiensonntag
Sonntag, 28. Januar 2018 | 11:00 – 17:00
Freier Eintritt für Familien in die Ausstellung

 

Mittagsführung zu Sehnsuchtsorte
Mittwoch, 31. Januar 2018 | 12:15
Mit Christina Schmitt

 

Familiensonntag
Sonntag, 25. Februar 2018 | 11:00 – 17:00
Freier Eintritt für Familien in die Ausstellung

 

Filmabend #1
Mittwoch, 21. März 2018 | 18:00 – 20:00
Künstlergespräch und Filmvorführung von Der wilde Weisse Mit Dadi Wirz und Renatus Zürcher. Moderation Ines Goldbach

 

Familiensonntag
Sonntag, 25. März 2018 | 11:00 – 17:00
Freier Eintritt für Familien in die Ausstellung
14:00 – 16:00 Familienführung und –workshop mit Künstlerin Katharina A. Wieser. Unkostenbeitrag 5 CHF/ Person. Mit Familienpass 4 CHF/ Person. Anmeldung bis 21.03.18.

 

Filmabend #2 Catching the real
Mittwoch, 28. März 2018 | 18:00 – 20:00
Ausgewählte Filmarbeiten. Vorgestellt von Chantal Molleur, White Frame

 

Finissage
Montag, 2. April 2018 | 11:00 – 17:00
Ostermontag ganztags geöffnet bei freiem Eintritt

 

Teresa Hubbard / Alexander Birchler
 Eighteen (2013) UHD video with sound
 / Duration: 15 min 50 sec, loop
 Courtesy the Artists, Tanya Bonakdar Gallery, New York, Vera Munro Gallery, Hamburg and Lora Reynolds Gallery, Austin © Teresa Hubbard / Alexander Birchler Eighteen was made possible through the generous support of the Linda Pace Foundation
Monica Studer / Christoph van den Berg Wiese, 2005/2010 Realtime-Animation © Studer / van den Berg, Basel Courtesy: Galerie Nicolas Krupp
Max Philipp Schmid Paradies, 2015 HD Video with sound ca. 15 min mit: Thomas Douglas, Regie, Schnitt, Ton, Fotos: Max Philipp Schmid, Kamera: Thomas Isler, Ausstattung, Kostüm: Monika Görner-Vogt, Sounddesign: Knut Jensen, Produzentin: Stella Händler © Max Philipp Schmid
Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger Schlaraffenland (Cockaigne) , 2014 10 min 8 sec, loop © Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger courtesy: Galerie Stampa, Basel