25 January – 2 April 2018
Esther Hunziker
Opening: Wednesday 24 January 2018, 6.30 pm
Press preview: Tuesday 23 January, 9 am and 12 noon
Basel-resident artist Esther Hunziker (b.1969) often combines seeming realities with real illusions in her work, creating quite individual, unpredictable actualities. In the context of her first major institutional solo exhibition at the Kunsthaus Baselland she returns to a subject of previous works: Science Fiction, and interweaves science with fiction in search of a new, expanded understanding of objects. Alienation is thus the central topic of the exhibition. The English word alien contains ideas of both the extra-terrestrial, what lies beyond the earth, and the foreign, yet at the same time it also relates to quite terrestrial, everyday feelings like being a stranger, being unrelated to things and inadequacy. An extensive publication from Mark Pezinger Verlag will appear in conjunction with the exhibition.

 

25 January – 2 April 2018
Sehnsuchtsorte / Places of Longing
Opening: Wednesday 24 January 2018, 6.30 pm
Press preview: Tuesday 23 January, 9 am and 12 noon
What could our places of longing be? What identies them and what might endanger them? What accords with our personal image of an extraordinary day, an unusual experience of nature or a paradisiac state, for us or other beings? Can we find this amid the quotidian? In the most varied manner selected video works investigate this question of the societal and individual longing for an ideal place of being oneself. With recent acquisitions for the dotMov.bl collection as well as other contributions from, amongst others, Teresa Hubbard / Alexander Birchler, Max Philipp Schmid, Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger and Monica Studer / Christoph van den Berg.

 

25 January – 4 March 2018
Solo Position: Nicole A. Wietlisbach. A kulturelles.bl Initiative
Opening: Wednesday 24 January 2018, 6.30 pm
Press preview: Tuesday 23 January, 9 am and 12 noon
For her first solo exhibition in the framework of the ‘Solo Position’ prize format Nicole A. Wietlisbach (b. 1989), who lives in Basel, creates a special complex of work within the spaces of the Kunsthaus Baselland. Recent works that display the artist’s interest in alienation and reduction will be presented. Her engagement with linear structures in nature will be brought into focus, as well as the estrangement and alienation of everyday images and habits. Landscape, compositions and music, as well as drawing and painting are all key elements in this work. ‘Solo Position’ is a competition format aimed at artists in the region which enables an artist a solo exhibition in the three Kabinett galleries at the Kunsthaus. A public call for entries took place for the fifth time in early 2017 – a kulturelles.bl initiative. The jury members were the expert commission for art from the Canton of Basel-Landschaft and the Director of the Kunsthaus Baselland.

 

16 March – 2 April 2018
Purchased! The Canton Basel-Landschaft’s new acquisitions
Opening: Thursday 15 March 2018, 6.30 pm
Press preview: Wednesday 14 March, 10.30 am
A Kunsthaus Baselland initiative: 2017 purchases by the Canton Basel-Landschaft from the studios of artists Sabine Hertig (b.1982, lives in Basel, works in the Dreispitz) and Krassimira Drenska (b.1947, lives and works in Reinach) will be presented in the Kabinett galleries, alongside other, complementary works.

 

16 March – 31 December 2018
Vittorio Brodmann. Kunsthaus Baselland Annual Exterior Project 2018
Opening: Thursday 15 March 2018, 6.30 pm
Press preview: Wednesday 14 March, 10.30 am
Born in 1987 in Ettingen (BL) and currently living in Berlin, Vittorio Brodmann will develop a work specifically for the large exterior banner of the Kunsthaus Baselland that will be on show one year long. The new work will be based on Brodmann’s typically narrative painting practice that is frequently reminiscent of comic scenes. With this the annual exterior project is awarded for the fifth time: 2014: Bianca Pedrina; 2015: Kilian Rüthemann; 2016: Matthias Huber; 2017: Daniel Göttin. The format is designed specifically to offer artists from the region a lasting presence here.

 

20 April – 16 July 2018
Rossella Biscotti
Opening: Thursday 19 April 2018, 6.30 pm
Press preview: Wednesday 18 April, 10.30 am
Rossella Biscotti uses montage as a gesture to reveal individual narratives and their relation to society. In her cross-media practice, cutting across filmmaking, performance and sculpture, she explores and reconstructs obscured moments from recent times, often against the backdrop of state institutions. In the process of composing her personal encounters and oral interrogations into new stories, the site of investigation tends to leave its mark on her sculptures and installations. By examining the relevance of the recovered material from a contemporary perspective, Biscotti sensibly weaves a link to the present. Relationships, support structures and entanglement are issues she questions in her most recent work.

 

20 April – 16 July 2018
Rochelle Feinstein
Opening: Thursday 19 April 2018, 6.30 pm
Press preview: Wednesday 18 April, 10.30 am
Over almost 30 years, New-York born Rochelle Feinstein (b.1947), long-time professor of painting and printmaking at Yale University, has created a body of work that engages with the cultural and political connections within artistic production in general, and painting specifically. For Feinstein, painting is an anti-
hierarchical endeavour, dealing with the question of what this medium can mean today, societally and culturally, without having to persevere with traditional forms. The solo show at the Kunsthaus Baselland will also include recent works by the artist from 2017 and 2018, a fresh cycle of paintings in a hang that interacts with the architecture of the Kunsthaus.

 

20 April – 16 July 2018
Naama Tsabar
Opening: Thursday 19 April 2018, 6.30 pm
Press preview: Wednesday 18 April, 10.30 am
New York-based artist Naama Tsabar (b.1982, Israel) investigates multi sensory environments and various charged spaces. Finding the power structures and the often out of sight components that enable fantasies to develop and offer an alternative to the realities of the outside world. Alluding to the implicit gender roles and coded behavior in music and nightlife, she turns to the aggressive gestures of rock and roll as well as its associations with masculinity and power, and undercuts them. In her works Tsabar channels the decadence of urban nightlife and its connections with danger, seduction and subversion.

 

27 August – 2 September 2018
‘Next Generation’
Institut Kunst HGK FHNW Bachelor and Master Degree Show Opening: Sunday 26 August 2018, 2 pm
Press preview: Friday 24 August, 10.30 am
The Institut Kunst at the FHNW Academy of Art and Design is invited to the Kunsthaus Baselland once again, offering prospective artists an exciting platform on which to present their degree work to the public in a professional context.

 

14 September 2018 – 11 November 2018
Beehave. A Summary.
Opening: Thursday 13 September 2018, 6.30 pm
Press preview: Wednesday 12 September, 10.30 am
The honeybee plays a key role within our whole ecosystem. Starting from contemporary discussions about how bees are dying and current threats to the species, artistic works come about – in part in response to science – which demonstrate subjects relevant to society as well as principles of living and acting together. This is a group exhibition created in cooperation with the Fundació Joan Miró in Barcelona and presents the honeybee as a source of artistic inspiration.

 

25 November 2018 – January 2019
Regionale
Opening: Saturday 24 November 2018, 6 pm
What started many years ago as a Christmas exhibition has meanwhile become one of the largest cross-border projects in the Basel, South Baden and Alsace region. Eighteen institutions from the trinational region select regional artists from more than 800 dossiers to present their artistic work.

Foto: Gerda Steiner / Jörg Lenzlinger Schlaraffenland, 2014 (Still)

25. Januar bis 2. April 2018
Esther Hunziker
Vernissage: Mittwoch, 24. Januar 2018, 18.30 Uhr
Presserundgang: Dienstag, 23. Januar, 9 und 12 Uhr
Die in Basel wohnhafte Künstlerin Esther Hunziker (*1969) überlagert in ihren Arbeiten oft scheinbare Realitäten mit realen Scheinwelten und konstruiert ganz eigene, unvorhergesehene Wirklichkeiten. Im Rahmen ihrer ersten grossen institutionellen Einzelausstellung im Kunsthaus Baselland nimmt sie das Thema Science Fiction vergangener Arbeiten erneut auf und verwebt Wissenschaft mit Fiktion auf der Suche nach einem neuen, erweiterten Verständnis von Objekten. Alienation/ Entfremdung bildet dabei das zentrale Thema der Ausstellung. Das englische Wort alien beinhaltet sowohl das Extraterrestrische, Ausserirdische und Ausländische, gleichzeitig aber auch ganz irdische, alltägliche Gefühle wie Fremdheit, Beziehungslosigkeit und Unzulänglichkeit. Begleitend zur Ausstellung erscheint eine umfangreiche Publikation im Mark Pezinger Verlag.

25. Januar bis 2. April 2018
Sehnsuchtsorte / Places of Longing
Vernissage: Mittwoch, 24. Januar 2018, 18.30 Uhr
Presserundgang: Dienstag, 23. Januar, 9 und 12 Uhr
Was können für uns Orte der Sehnsucht sein? Wodurch zeichnen sie sich aus und durch was können sie eine Brüchigkeit erfahren? Was entspricht unserer persönlichen Vorstellung von einem aussergewöhnlichen Tag, einem besonderen Naturerlebnis, paradiesischen Zuständen für uns oder auch andere Lebewesen? Können wir dies im Alltag finden? Auf unterschiedlichste Weise ergründen die ausgewählten Videoarbeiten diese Frage nach einer gesellschaftlichen und individuellen Sehnsucht und einem idealen Ort des eignen Seins. Mit Neuerwerbungen für die Sammlung dotMov.bl und Beiträgen u. a. von Teresa Hubbard / Alexander Birchler, Max Philipp Schmid, Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger sowie Monica Studer / Christoph van den Berg.

25. Januar bis 4. März 2018
Solo Position: Nicole A. Wietlisbach. Eine Initiative von kulturelles.bl
Vernissage: Mittwoch, 24. Januar 2018, 18.30 Uhr
Presserundgang: Dienstag, 23. Januar, 9 und 12 Uhr
In ihrer ersten institutionellen Einzelausstellung realisiert die in Basel lebende Künstlerin Nicole A. Wietlisbach (*1989) einen neuen Werkkomplex innerhalb der Räume des Kunsthaus Baselland. Präsentiert werden aktuelle Arbeiten, die das Interesse der Künstlerin für Verfremdung und Reduktion zeigen. Im Fokus stehen ihre Auseinandersetzung mit linearen Strukturen in der Natur sowie die Verfremdung alltäglicher Bilder und Gewohnheiten. Landschaft, Kompositionen, Musik, aber auch Zeichnung und Malerei sind dabei wesentliche Elemente. Die «Solo Position» ist ein Wettbewerbsformat, das sich an Künstler/innen der Region richtet und ihnen eine erste Einzelausstellung im Kunsthaus ermöglicht. Auf Initiative von kulturelles.bl wurde der Wettbewerb im Frühjahr 2017 zum fünften Mal öffentlich ausgeschrieben. Mitglieder der Jury waren die Fachkommission Kunst des Kantons Basel-Landschaft und die Direktion des Kunsthaus Baselland.

16. März bis 2. April 2018
angekauft! Neuerwerbungen des Kantons Basel-Landschaft
Vernissage: Donnerstag, 15. März 2018, 18.30 Uhr
Presserundgang: Mittwoch, 14. März, 10.30 Uhr
Auf Initiative des Kunsthaus Baselland werden die Atelierankäufe des Kantons Basel-Landschaft aus dem Jahr 2017 der Künstlerinnen Sabine Hertig (*1982, wohnhaft in Basel, arbeitet auf dem Dreispitz) und Krassimira Drenska (*1947, lebt und arbeitet in Reinach) in den Kabinetträumen vorgestellt und durch weitere Arbeiten ergänzt.

16. März bis 31. Dezember 2018
Vittorio Brodmann. Jahresaussenprojekt 2018 Kunsthaus Baselland
Vernissage: Donnerstag, 15. März 2018, 18.30 Uhr
Presserundgang: Mittwoch, 14. März 10.30 Uhr
Der in Ettingen (BL) aufgewachsene und derzeit in Berlin lebende Vittorio Brodmann (*1987) wird eigens für das grosse Aussenbanner des Kunsthaus Baselland ein Werk entwickeln, das über die Dauer eines Jahres präsent sein wird. Die neue Arbeit wird auf der für ihn typischen narrativen und oftmals an Comicszenen erinnernden Malerei basieren. Das Jahresaussenprojekt wird nun zum fünften Mal vergeben: 2014: Bianca Pedrina, 2015: Kilian Rüthemann, 2016: Matthias Huber, 2017: Daniel Göttin. Es ist ein Format, das insbesondere KünstlerInnen aus der Region eine permanente Präsenz gewähren soll.

20. April bis 16. Juli 2018
Rossella Biscotti
Vernissage: Donnerstag, 19. April 2018, 18.30 Uhr
Presserundgang: Mittwoch, 18. April, 10.30 Uhr
Rossella Biscotti (*1978, lebt und arbeitet in Rotterdam) deckt individuelle Narrativen und deren Beziehung zur Gesellschaft auf und nutzt dazu eine medienübergreifende Montagetechnik aus Film, Performance und Skulptur. Sie erforscht und rekonstruiert obskure Momente aus jüngerer Zeit, häufig vor der Kulisse staatlicher Institutionen. Während sie ihre persönlichen Begegnungen und mündlichen Befragungen zu neuen Geschichten verwebt, hinterlässt auch der Ort ihrer Untersuchungen mitunter seine Spuren an ihren Skulpturen und Installationen. Biscotti hinterfragt die Bedeutung des wiederverwerteten Materials aus einer zeitgenössischen Perspektive und stellt somit eine wahrnehmbare Verbindung zum Jetzt her. Gegenstand ihrer jüngsten Arbeit sind Beziehungen, tragende Strukturen und Verwicklungen.

20. April bis 16. Juli 2018
Rochelle Feinstein
Vernissage: Donnerstag, 19. April 2018, 18.30 Uhr
Presserundgang: Mittwoch, 18. April, 10.30 Uhr
In den vergangenen bald dreissig Jahren hat die gebürtige New Yorkerin Rochelle Feinstein (*1947), ehemals langjährige Professorin für Malerei und Drucktechnik an der Yale University, ein Werk geschaffen, das sich mit den kulturellen und politischen Zusammenhängen der künstlerischen Produktion im Allgemeinen und der Malerei im Besonderen auseinandersetzt. Malerei ist für Feinstein ein antihierarchisches Bemühen um die Frage, was dieses Medium heute gesellschaftlich und kulturell bedeuten kann ohne auf traditionelle Formen dabei beharren zu müssen. Die Einzelausstellung im Kunsthaus Baselland wird ebenso neue Werke der Künstlerin von 2017 und 2018 zeigen, die zusammen mit der Architektur des Kunsthauses einen neuen Werkkomplex ausbilden werden.

20. April bis 16. Juli 2018
Naama Tsabar
Vernissage: Donnerstag, 19. April 2018, 18.30 Uhr
Presserundgang: Mittwoch, 18. April, 10.30 Uhr
Die in New York tätige Künstlerin Naama Tsabar (*1982 in Israel) untersucht verschiedene Orte auf energetische Strukturen hin, die zur Entfaltung von Fantasien beitragen und zugleich vor den Realitäten der Aussenwelt schützen. Mit einem Verweis auf die impliziten Geschlechterrollen und Verhaltenskodizes der Musik- und Clubwelt rückt Tsabar die aggressiven Gesten des Rock ’n’ Roll und dessen Assoziationen mit Männlichkeit und Macht in den Fokus und unterwandert sie. Ihre Arbeiten wirken wie ein Filter für die Dekadenz des urbanen Nachtlebens mit all seinen gefährlichen, verführerischen und subversiven Facetten.

27. August bis 2. September 2018
«Next Generation»
Diplomausstellung Bachelor und Master des Institut Kunst HGK FHNW
Vernissage: Sonntag, 26. August 2018, 14 Uhr
Presserundgang: Freitag, 24. August, 10.30 Uhr
Erneut ist das Institut Kunst der Hochschule für Gestaltung und Kunst zu Gast im Kunsthaus Baselland und bietet angehenden Künstlern und Künstlerinnen eine spannende Plattform, um ihre Diplomarbeiten der Öffentlichkeit in einem professionellen Rahmen vorzustellen.

14. September 2018 bis 11. November 2018
BEEHAVE
Vernissage: Donnerstag, 13. September 2018, 18.30 Uhr
Presserundgang: Mittwoch, 12. September, 10.30 Uhr
Die Honigbiene spielt eine zentrale Rolle innerhalb des gesamten Ökosystems. Ausgehend von der aktuellen Diskussion um das Bienensterben und die derzeitige Gefährdung des Tiers entstehen – zum Teil als Reflex auf die Naturwissenschaften – künstlerische Arbeiten, die gesellschaftsrelevante Themen oder auch Prinzipien des Zusammenlebens und -wirkens in diesem Zusammenhang veranschaulichen. Eine Gruppenausstellung, die in Kooperation mit der Fundació Joan Miró in Barcelona entsteht und die Honigbiene als künstlerische Inspirationsquelle vorstellen wird.

25. November 2018 bis Januar 2019
Regionale
Vernissage: Samstag, 24. November 2018, 18 Uhr
Was vor vielen Jahren als Weihnachtsausstellung begann, ist mittlerweile zu einem der grössten grenzüberschreitenden Projekte der Region Basel, Südbaden und Elsass geworden. Achtzehn Institutionen aus dem trinationalen Raum wählen aus mehr als 800 Dossiers regionale Künstlerinnen und Künstler aus, um deren künstlerisches Schaffen zu präsentieren.

Bildmaterial: Gerda Steiner / Jörg Lenzlinger Schlaraffenland, 2014 (Still)