Andrea Blum

Parallel Lives

11.6. —
26.9.2021

KHBL AB 01
Andrea Blum, Peacock, 2019. Courtesy the artist and Insitu / Fabienne LeClerc, Paris. Installation view Kunsthaus Baselland 2021. Photo : Gina Folly
KHBL AB 02
Andrea Blum, Grey Matter, 2019; Cactus, 2013; Desert, 2019. Courtesy the artist and Insitu / Fabienne LeClerc, Paris. Installation view Kunsthaus Baselland 2021. Photo : Gina Folly
KHBL AB 04
Andrea Blum, Grey Matter, 2019. Courtesy the artist and Insitu / Fabienne LeClerc, Paris. Installation view Kunsthaus Baselland 2021. Photo : Gina Folly
KHBL AB 03
Andrea Blum, Grey Matter, 2019; Cactus, 2013. Courtesy the artist and Insitu / Fabienne LeClerc, Paris. Installation view Kunsthaus Baselland 2021. Photo : Gina Folly
KHBL AB 06
Andrea Blum, Untitled…….etc. (loveseat with a cold-blooded animal (Lizard)), 2008; Desert, 2019. Courtesy the artist and Insitu / Fabienne LeClerc, Paris. Installation view Kunsthaus Baselland 2021. Photo : Gina Folly
KHBL AB 05
Andrea Blum, Desert, 2019. Courtesy the artist and Insitu / Fabienne LeClerc, Paris. Installation view Kunsthaus Baselland 2021. Photo : Gina Folly
KHBL AB 08
Andrea Blum, Babel (loveseat with Canary), 2008. Courtesy the artist and Insitu / Fabienne LeClerc, Paris. Installation view Kunsthaus Baselland 2021. Photo : Gina Folly
KHBL AB 07
Andrea Blum, Untitled…….etc. (loveseat with a cold-blooded animal (Lizard)), 2008; Babel (loveseat with Canary), 2008. Courtesy the artist and Insitu / Fabienne LeClerc, Paris. Installation view Kunsthaus Baselland 2021. Photo : Gina Folly

Project partners


1 US Embassy

The work of New York artist Andrea Blum (b. 1950) falls between sculpture, architecture and design, exploring the relationship of the sociopolitical world to the private psychological one. Since the 1980’s she has built permanent and temporary projects in Europe and the United States, and has exhibited in museums, galleries and numerous exhibition venues. Blum has had one-person exhibitions at La Conservera Centro de Arte Contemporaneo, SP; Stroom Center for Art & Architecture, NL; Henry Moore Institute, UK; and Le Crestet Centre d’art Contemporain, FR, and has made special projects for the 51st Venice Biennale; Maison Rouge, Paris; MUDAM, Luxembourg; l’Observatoire, Marseille, and the Theatre des Champs-Elysees in Paris where she was the set designer for the Opera, La Favorite by Donizetti.

Blum is the recipient of Fellowships from the Guggenheim Foundation, the Graham Foundation, Art Matters Inc., the New York Foundation for the Arts, the SJWeiler Fund, the National Endowment for the Arts, and was named Chevalier, Order of Arts and Letters, by the French Minister of Culture. She is a Full Professor of Combined Media and Associate Chair of Studio, in the Department of Art & Art History at Hunter College in New York, and frequently lectures on the relationship of Art and Architecture and the social interface between the two.

For her exhibition at Kunsthaus Baselland, Blum transformed the annex of Kunsthaus into a space that examines our connection to the natural world, mediated by the exhibition design’s use of furniture and media. Parallel Lives at Kunsthaus Baselland is her first exhibition in Switzerland.

A comprehensive interview with the artist and Ines Goldbach was be published on the occasion of the exhibition.

Curator: Ines Goldbach

Andrea Blum

Parallel Lives

11.6. —
26.9.2021

BLUM card
Andrea Blum, PEACOCK 2019. Digital collage. Courtesy of the artist and Insitu /Fabienne LeClerc, Paris

Projektpartner


1 US Embassy

Die Praxis der in New York ansässigen Künstlerin Andrea Blum (*1950) ist an der Schnittstelle von Bildhauerei, Architektur und Design angesiedelt. In ihren Arbeiten setzt sie sich kritisch mit dem Verhältnis der soziopolitischen Sphäre zur privaten, psychologischen Sphäre auseinander. Ab den 1980er Jahren realisierte Blum permanente und temporäre Projekte in Europa und den Vereinigten Staaten und präsentierte ihr Werk in Museen, Galerien und an zahlreichen weiteren Ausstellungsorten. Einzelausstellungen ihrer Arbeit fanden statt am La Conservera Centro de Arte Contemporáneo, ESP, am Stroom Center for Art & Architecture, NL, am Henry Moore Institute, GB, und am Le Crestet Centre d'art Contemporain, FR. Darüber hinaus hat Blum eigene Projekte für die 51. Biennale von Venedig, für La Maison Rouge, Paris, für MUDAM, Luxembourg und für l'Observatoire, Marseille, umgesetzt. Am Pariser Théâtre des Champs-Élysées gestaltete sie das Bühnenbild für Donizettis Oper La Favorite.

Blum war Stipendiatin der Guggenheim Foundation, der Graham Foundation, der New York Foundation for the Arts, des SJ Weiler Fund, des National Endowment for the Arts und von Art Matters Inc. Zudem wurde sie vom französischen Kulturminister zum Ritter des Ordens für Kunst und Literatur ernannt. Sie ist ordentliche Professorin für Combined Media und Lehrbeauftragte am Department of Art & Art History des Hunter College in New York. Blum hält regelmässig Vorträge über das Verhältnis von Kunst und Architektur und die soziale Schnittstelle der beiden.

Für ihre Ausstellung im Kunsthaus Baselland wird Blum den Anbau des Kunsthauses in einen Raum verwandeln, in dem unser Verhältnis zur Natur – vermittelt durch den Einsatz von Möbeln und Medien in der Ausstellungsarchitektur – untersucht wird. Parallel Lives im Kunsthaus Baselland ist Blums erste umfassende Ausstellung in der Schweiz.

Anlässlich der Ausstellung ist ein ausführliches Interview mit der Künstlerin und Ines Goldbach erschienen.


KuratorIn: Ines Goldbach