Clément Cogitore

Part II

17.5. —
7.7.2019

82 V9630
Clément Cogitore, The Evil Eye, 2018. Installation view Kunsthaus Baselland 2019, photo: Gina Folly © 2019, ProLitteris, Zurich
7  Evil Eye With Sst Pr422 Hq 2109182
Clément Cogitore, The Evil Eye, 2018 (still). © 2019, ProLitteris, Zurich
5 Evil Eye With Sst Pr422 Hq 210918
Clément Cogitore, The Evil Eye, 2018 (still). © 2019, ProLitteris, Zurich
82 V9615
Clément Cogitore, The Evil Eye, 2018. Installation view Kunsthaus Baselland 2019, photo: Gina Folly © 2019, ProLitteris, Zurich
82 V9622
Clément Cogitore, The Evil Eye, 2018. Installation view Kunsthaus Baselland 2019, photo: Gina Folly © 2019, ProLitteris, Zurich

Project partners


Logo Rv Bw
Novartis Logo Pos Blk
If Logo Cart Sw
Ge Niveau De Gris
Fl Transparent Claim Schwarzweiss
Logo Evahober Vectorisé Ai
Logo Amb Suisse Rvb Sw

With this two-part exhibition from the Parisbased artist Clément Cogitore (b. 1983, Colmar)the Kunsthaus Baselland presents the firstSwiss solo exhibition by the 2018 Prix MarcelDuchamp winner. In a practice that has developed over many years, the French filmmaker and photographer deals in-depth with the question of how pictures from advertising, entertainment, social networks or even rituals, secrets and illusory worlds all work, these pictures which occupy an active role in the creation of ways of life. While the first exhibition offered an overview of his work in recent years, now his new work The Evil Eye, for which he won the Prix Marcel Duchamp, will be the particular focus of an institutional presentation for the first time.

Clément Cogitore in Conversation with Ines Goldbach


IG: I would like to focus in the beginning on the new work The Evil Eye. Could you tell a little more about the background in the film? All the pictures come from international image databases, don't they?

CC: Yes, all the images come from image banks, such as Getty or Shutterstock. So I didn't shoot them myself, but I bought the rights. These images are mainly intended for use in advertising or political campaigns. Almost all of them consist of a catalogue of stereotypes referenced by descriptions or keywords of the type, for example 930568004 Lonely woman looking through window to city view / 619566729 Beauty girl drinking coffee etc.Each image has an identification number, which I wanted to keep in the image and which gives a rather totalitarian dimension to the whole. These images are all originally used to sell something to the viewer – a product or an ideology. The starting point was an idea: what if these faces, these bodies, instead of trying to sell us something, started to tell us their stories, their fears, their desires and something about the state of their world?

IG: So the question is whether collective images and collective memories are created with these instruments, as well as a kind of collective standard of how something should look. Did that go in a direction that you found worth investigating?

CC: Indeed, this collective imagination, built from pure representation, is of great interest. I like the idea, in carrying out this type of project, of producing a kind of archive of the present day, to imagine that one day in a few centuries human beings found buried hard disks and managed to decipher their data: through watching this film they would tell themselves something about our civilisation, our representation of ourselves, our neuroses, fears and aspirations.

IG: Does the title come from these kind of neuroses? Where does The Evil Eyecome from?

CC: The ‘evil eye’ speaks of a course per se, and the circulation of evil. I wanted to use this notion and confront it with the imagery of perfect bodies and settings, without conflicts and without fears and to produce this by way of editing, off-screen and the subtext.

I am very interested in the question of the origin of evil and its circulation within a community. It happens that in our Judeo-Christian mythologies, and therefore in our imagination, the origin of evil has much to do with the female body (Eve, witches, etc...). While violence is originally brought by man, evil is always of female origin, and carries within it a powerful charge of seduction. I wanted to make these notions resonate with stereotyped female bodies. The female body is over-represented in these databases because the female body sells more and creates less distrust. Then the desire to build a film that was only carried by female bodies and a female voice came quite naturally.

IG: Where does the text come from that we can read and hear? Sometimes it sounds like a prophecy, somehow religious – at the same time it’s not clear if it really makes sense at all. The voice equally somehow draws one in, it’s convincing, it inspires trust.

CC: The text is mostly my own, but there are some fragments of Saint John (The Apocalypse) and Dante (Hell). There is an idea of the imminence of catastrophe, of a community organising itself in face of it and of brutal violence waiting to happen. All this is indeed communicated by an extremely soft voice, which dangerously disturbs the audience's listening.

IG: You mentioned that you very much dislike most of the images, maybe they disgust because on the one hand you know what they are needed for, on the other hand they are still seductive and attractive. You already mentioned the reasons there are mainly women in these images, of different ages, acting or posing. Does this say something about the strategies of advertising?

CC: Indeed the editing was quite challenging because I find these images, for the most part, very unpleasant. Most of the time, as a spectator, you have the impression of being in front of a product. By the cumulative effect of the lighting, make-up, stereotypical actions and intensive post-production the bodies and the physical presence of the people filmed seem very distant; we could be faced with a form of digital spectre. But in fact for each image to exist in this form, even the most artificial, there was at one point a living body in the presence of a camera. I was interested in meeting this body: trying to breach these different successive filters put in-between the body and the viewer by the production protocol.

The montage consisted of trying to reveal what each body and each face might reveal as energy, emotion or difficulty beyond the stereotype it placed there to embody. Through the confrontation of image, text and sound, the editing allows some access to other emotional areas of the shot, which behave differently depending on what precedes or follows and depending too on the accompanying sound. A little like in a chemistry laboratory, where, by combining several substances, you find some of them have unexpected, disturbing properties.

IG: At the same time as The Evil Eyewe are presenting your film Les Indes galantes. There the body, especially the political and social body, is quite central, as is the focus on a very contemporary understanding — or misunderstanding — of living, being and acting together: inclusion or separation, within Europe, within a society, within different religions, genders, social contexts or a certain group. Topics that are among the most important at this moment in our time. Would you agree that this is a crucial topic for your works? Why do you think that film is an appropriate medium for a discussion of these topics?

CC: The body in its own way says things that language does not allow us to express: tensions, energies, desires... It's something that comes up regularly in my work and film is indeed a very powerful medium to capture it. Once someone pointed out to me that in my work bodies are often either subjected to a form of alienation (Elegies,for example), or seized in a transgressive movement (Les Indes galantes). I wasn't really aware of it, but in fact it is true. Between alienation and transgression is a tension that interests me.

IG: The music, rhythm and atmosphere of the whole film Les Indes galantesis stunning; it makes the viewer a participant immediately. The film can be read as a summary and at the same time a clash of all the aforementioned topics, mixed with high energy and the high risk that it might become violent. At the same time the films can be perceived as suggestions of how to deal with potential aggressive energy within society; how this might be transformed into release and liberation. Was this one of your motivations for working with these young Krump performers, who have different backgrounds, giving them a stage and making a kind of dance publicly visible, a dance form which was, as far as I understand, born in black Los Angles ghettos in the 1990s after the violent death of Rodney King and the subsequent riots, and which has remained mostly invisible?

CC: At first I just had an intuition that this baroque music could accommodate other bodies, gestures and energies than those usually called upon. So I invited Krump dancers to take over the music because I felt that the cathartic dimension of the dance could respond in an unexpected way to the incantatory dimension of the music.

Basically, it's a bit like when you have two dear friends who don't know each other and you just decide to bring them around a table to introduce them to each other and capture this meeting. Then, of course, there were long discussions and rehearsals beforehand, because some parts are choreographed and others improvised. The shooting was done by seeking a balance between improvisation and choreography, between accident and control.

From a more conceptual point of view, my initial incentive also responded to a political question, present in the music from the beginning, namely that this piece by Jean-Philippe Rameau from the Indes galanteswas inspired by an Amerindian tribal dance from Louisiana that he had seen in Paris on stage at the Comédie-Italienne theatre. Behind the elegance of the French Baroque there was tension hidden in the ritual drums of indigenous people performing under the gaze of colonisers. In Krump there is this incandescent way of expressing the violence contained in the bodies through symbolic gestures, which are a political response to the police brutality at work in the black ghettos of Los Angeles. By confronting this music with Krump, it was a way of producing a small geopolitical-historical short-circuit in the history of peoples and forms on both sides of the Atlantic.

IG: You are currently working once again on the project Les Indes galantes with the Opéra National de Paris. This time not just one scene of the opera ballet, but with the entirety of the piece. What is the motivation behind continuing this project, and will you work with the same young dancers with whom you came in contact in 2017?

CC: Following the video, the director of the Paris Opera, Stéphane Lissner, invited me to stage the entire opera on the stage of the Bastille Opera, this time with the singers and choir in addition to dancers. I invited one of the choreographers I had worked with for the Bintou Dembele video to do the choreography and several of the dancers in the video will be present on stage, but with Bintou we also invited other dancers from street dances other than Krump, such as electro, popping and voguing. The choreographic spectrum will thus be wider than Krump alone.

IG: Thinking and reflecting on both films, Les Indes Galantesand The Evil Eye, I imagine the whole process of filming and working backstage was quite different – on the one hand assembling a group of people, a kind of social group with different backgrounds with their bodies very much present in the opera itself but in the film per se too. This is maybe true as well for films like Neither Heaven Nor Earth. On the other hand for The Evil Eyeyou worked mainly with a database and its images. Did you perceive this as a different kind of operation?

CC: With each project, I try to confront myself with a new operating mode, a new way of proceeding. "Les Indes galantes" is probably my work where the body is the most present (physical, political, collective body) and in "The Evil Eye" it is the least present: each of these bodies seems to be an artifact. The body here is a priori only a representation, never a presence or an energy. However, what I am looking for in my work above all is to capture and tell people's presences and energies. Confronting these databases, which are gigantic catalogues of stereotyped bodies, is a way of challenging myself: how do I find myself in these presences that are at the heart of my work?

IG: At 15 minutes long the film implies a kind of narration but in fact, although the text continues throughout the whole film and one gets the impression of having followed a narration, it’s really only the striking images that address the viewer. Is this impression part of the artistic concept?

CC: The initial idea was to construct a dramatic counterpoint to images that do not contain any dramaturgy through narrative. As the editing progresses, the text becomes more floating, and it is sensation that becomes predominant. For me, narrative is often like a vehicle that allows me to reach a place. It is not so much the vehicle that matters, but the journey and its destination. Fiction is also a way of engaging the spectator's intellect and thus reducing the control he or she can have on their sensory or emotional response; thus bringing them to a place of unexpected emotion and sensation fed by contradictions.

IG: You just mentioned that The Evil Eyecould function as a kind of archive of the present day, saying a lot about our images of desire, fears etc. Being confronted with all this in that direct way, being seduced and irritated at the same time, would you say it reflects and also challenges our faith in superficial appearances?

CC: I would say that for me this is a way of questioning the kind of seduction produced by fiction: this strange contradiction involves the spectator being both hypnotised by a narrative form, constituted by visual or sound signals from which they cannot avert their eyes, and at the same time being in an uncomfortable position, disturbed, almost damaged, by the meaning produced by these signals meeting. Basically, with The evil eyeI try to understand the sirens’ song.

Clément Cogitore (* 1983 in Colmar, lives in Paris) graduated from the art and design school in Stasbourg (Ecole Supérieure des Arts Décoratifs de Strasbourg) and the Fresnoy National Studio for contemporary art (Studio national des arts contemporains).

Our sincere gratitude goes to monart, Novartis, Institut Français, Grant Grand Est and flashlight for their important support of the exhibition.

Curator: Ines Goldbach

Clément Cogitore

Part II

17.5. —
7.7.2019

Mit der zweiteiligen Schau des Künstlers Clément Cogitore (*1983, Colmar, lebt und arbeitet in Paris) präsentiert das Kunsthaus Baselland die erste Einzelausstellung des aktuellen Gewinners des Prix Marcel Duchamp 2018 in der Schweiz. In seinem über Jahre hinweg gewachsenen Werk verhandelt der französische Filmer und Fotograf eingehend die Frage nach der Rolle von Bildern aus Werbung, Unterhaltung, sozialen Netzwerken oder auch Ritualen, Geheimnissen und Scheinwelten, die eine aktive Rolle in der Konstruktion von Lebensentwürfen einnehmen. Während die erste Ausstellungssequenz einen Überblick über sein Schaffen der letzten Jahre gegeben hat, steht nun vor allem sein neues Werk The Evil Eye, für das er den Prix Marcel Duchamp erhalten hat, erstmals im Fokus einer institutionellen Präsentation.

Clément Cogitore im Gespräch mit Ines Goldbach

IG: Ich möchte mich zu Beginn auf dein neuestes Werk, The Evil Eye, konzentrieren. Kannst du etwas über den Hintergrund des Films erzählen? Alle Bilder sind aus internationalen Bilddatenbanken, richtig?

CC: Ja, alle Bilder stammen von Bilddatenbanken wie Getty Images oder Shutterstock. Ich habe sie nicht selbst fotografiert, sondern die Rechte an ihnen gekauft. Diese Bilder werden sonst hauptsächlich für Werbezwecke oder politische Kampagnen verwendet. Fast alle gehören einem Katalog von Stereotypen an, auf die mit Schlagworten oder Beschreibungen verwiesen wird, beispielsweise930568004 Lonely woman looking through window to city view / 619566729 Beauty girls drinking coffeeusw. Jedes ist mit einer Identifikationsnummer versehen, die ich auf den Bildern stehen lassen wollte und die gleichzeitig dem Ganzen eine totalitäre Dimension verleiht. Diese Bilder wurden ursprünglich alle dazu verwendet, dem Betrachter etwas zu verkaufen — ein Produkt oder eine Ideologie. Ausgangspunkt für The Evil Eye war eine Idee: Was wäre, wenn diese Gesichter, diese Körper — anstatt etwas zu verkaufen — anfangen würden, ihre Geschichten zu erzählen, ihre Ängste und Wünsche zu offenbaren und uns über den Zustand ihrer Welt zu berichten?

IG: Die Frage ist also, ob kollektive Bilder und auch das kollektive Gedächtnis durch diese Bilder generiert und auch aktiviert werden und vielleicht sogar so etwas wie einen kollektiven Standard schaffen können, wie etwas auszusehen hat. Sind das Fragestellungen, die dich interessiert haben?

CC: Tatsächlich, die kollektive Vorstellungskraft, basierend auf reiner Repräsentation, ist hier für mich von grossem Interesse. Bei einem solchen Projekt gefällt mir die Vorstellung, eine Art Archiv der Jetztzeit zu schaffen und mir vorzustellen, dass eines Tages, ein paar Jahrhunderte später, Menschen vergrabene Hard Disks finden und die Daten dechiffrieren können: Durch das Betrachten dieses Films würden sie etwas über unsere Zivilisation erfahren, unsere Selbstdarstellung, unsere Neurosen, Ängste und Sehnsüchte.

IG: Ist der Titel an diese Neurosen angelehnt? Woher kommt die Bezeichnung The Evil Eye?

CC: The Evil Eye erzählt von einem Zustand an sich und dem Kreislauf des Bösen. Ich wollte den Begriff verwenden und ihm konflikt- und angstfreie Bilder von perfekten Körpern in perfekter Umgebung gegenüberstellen, dabei aber das Gefühl durch die Bearbeitung und den Subtext erzeugen.

Ich bin sehr am Ursprung des Bösen interessiert und wie es sich innerhalb einer Gemeinschaft und auch Gesellschaft bewegt. In unserer jüdisch-christlichen Mythologie, und somit auch in unserer Vorstellung, hat das Böse oft auch mit dem weiblichen Körper zu tun (Eva, Hexen etc. …). So wie die Gewalt aus dieser Sichtweise von Männern ausgeht, scheint das Böse meist weiblichen Ursprungs zu sein und ist damit auch stark verführerisch. Der weibliche Körper ist in diesen Datenbanken überpräsent, da er sich besser verkaufen lässt und weniger Misstrauen weckt. Dadurch war der Wunsch auch naheliegend, einen Film zu schaffen, der nur von weiblichen Körpern und Stimmen getragen wird.

IG: Woher kommt der Text, den wir lesen und hören? Manchmal klingt er wie eine Prophezeiung, fast schon religiös — gleichzeitig ist nicht klar, ob er wirklich Sinn ergibt. Die Stimme kreiert auf eine Art einen Sinn, sie ist überzeugend, sie schafft Vertrauen.

CC: Der Text ist grösstenteils von mir, mit einigen Fragmenten der Offenbarung des Johannes und Dantes Infernoversehen. Eine drohende Katastrophe ist spürbar, die über eine Gesellschaft zu brechen droht, die sich der bevorstehenden Gewalt durchaus bewusst ist und sich nach dieser Vorahnung richtet. All das wird von einer extrem sanften Stimme berichtet, die den Zuhörer auf gefährliche Weise in seiner Wahrnehmung zu verwirren mag.

IG: Du meintest einmal in einem früheren Gespräch, dass dir die Bilder gar nicht zusagen. Vielleicht sind sie abstossend, weil man einerseits weiss, für was sie benutzt werden, und andererseits sind sie doch verführerisch und anziehend. Sagt das etwas über die Strategien der Werbung aus?

CC: Tatsächlich war die Bearbeitung extrem herausfordernd, da ich diese Bilder zum grössten Teil als abstossend empfinde. Als Zuschauer hat man die meiste Zeit das Gefühl, vor einem Produkt zu stehen. Durch das Zusammenkommen von Lichteffekten, Make-up, stereotypischen Handlungen sowie der intensiven Nachbearbeitung scheinen die Körper und ihre physische Präsenz in weiter Ferne zu liegen; wir könnten meinen, vor einem rein digitalen Gebilde zu stehen. Tatsächlich aber liegt jedem noch so künstlichen Bild zu Beginn ein lebendiger Körper vor der Kamera zugrunde. Ich wollte genau diesem Körper begegnen und die verschiedenen aufeinanderfolgenden Filter, überlagert durch die Nachbearbeitung, zwischen Körper und Betrachter durchbrechen.

IG: Neben The Evil Eyezeigen wir auch noch eine weitere Arbeit von dir, Les Indes Galantes. Dieser Film scheint den Schwerpunkt auf ein sehr aktuelles Verständnis — oder Missverständnis — von Leben, Existieren und Miteinander-Agieren zu legen: Inklusion oder Ausgrenzung innerhalb Europas, innerhalb einer Gesellschaft, innerhalb unterschiedlicher Religionen, Geschlechter, sozialer Kontexte, einer bestimmten Gruppe. Themen, die zu diesem Zeitpunkt unserer Geschichte zu den wichtigsten gehören. Würdest du zustimmen, dass dies ein ganz wesentliches Thema in deinen Arbeiten ist, und warum ist hierfür gerade das Medium Film besonders geeignet?

CC: Der Körper erzählt auf seine ganz eigene Art und Weise Dinge, die wir mithilfe der Sprache nicht ausdrücken können: Spannungen, Energien, Sehnsüchte … Das ist etwas, was in meinen Arbeiten regelmässig auftaucht, und der Film ist tatsächlich ein sehr eindringliches Medium, um es einzufangen. Jemand hat mich einmal darauf aufmerksam gemacht, dass der Körper in meinen Arbeiten oft entweder einer Form der Verfremdung unterworfen ist (so beispielsweise in Elegies) oder in einer grenzüberschreitenden Bewegung in Besitz genommen wird (Les Indes Galantes). Das war mir gar nicht wirklich bewusst, aber tatsächlich stimmt es. Zwischen Verfremdung und Grenzüberschreitung besteht eine Spannung, die mich interessiert.

IG: Musik, Rhythmus und Atmosphäre im gesamten Film Les Indes Galantessind atemberaubend; sie machen den Betrachtenden augenblicklich zum Teilnehmenden. Der Film lässt sich als Zusammenfassung betrachten und gleichzeitig als Zusammenprallen all der bereits zuvor erwähnten Themen, verbunden durch ein hohes Mass an Energie und mit dem ebenso hohen Risiko behaftet, in Gewalttätigkeit abzudriften. Zur gleichen Zeit lässt sich dieses Moment aber auch als eine Art Vorschlag respektive Angebot betrachten, wie man mit potenziell aggressiver Energie innerhalb der Gesellschaft umgehen könnte; wie sich diese in eine Befreiung und Entschärfung verwandeln liesse. War dies unter anderem Motivation dafür, mit diesen jungen Krump-Tänzern zu arbeiten, die ja alle einen unterschiedlichen Background haben, ihnen eine Bühne zu bieten und diese Art von Tanz öffentlich sichtbar zu machen? Ein Tanz, der seinen Ursprung in den 1990er-Jahren in den Ghettos von Los Angeles hat, und zwar nach dem gewaltsamen Tod von Rodney King und den darauffolgenden Unruhen, und der zum grössten Teil im Verborgenen stattfand?

CC: Zunächst war da bloss meine Intuition, dass diese Barockmusik bei der ursprünglichen Fassung von Les Indes Galantesandere Körper, Gesten und Energien untermalen könnte, als die, an die man für gewöhnlich denkt. Also lud ich Krump-Tänzer dazu ein, sich mit dieser Musik auseinanderzusetzen, da ich das Gefühl hatte, dass die kathartische Dimension des Tanzes auf unerwartete Art und Weise mit den beschwörenden Dimensionen der Musik reagieren könnte.

Es ist ein bisschen so, wie wenn man zwei enge Freunde hat, die einander nicht kennen, und man beschliesst, die beiden an einen Tisch zu bringen, sie einander vorzustellen, und dieses Treffen dann festzuhalten. Da gab es natürlich im Vorfeld lange Diskussionen und Proben, da einige Teile choreografiert und andere wiederum improvisiert sind. Bei der Aufnahme haben wir versucht, ein Gleichgewicht von Improvisation und Choreografie zu schaffen, von Zufall und Kontrolle.

Von einem stärker konzeptuell geprägten Standpunkt aus war meine ursprüngliche Intuition auch die Reaktion auf eine politische Frage, die in der Musik von Anfang an vorhanden war, da sich Jean-Philippe Rameau für dieses Stück aus den Indes Galantes von einem Stammestanz indianischer Ureinwohner aus Louisiana inspirieren liess, den er in Paris auf der Bühne des Theaters der Pariser Comédie-Italienne gesehen hatte. Hinter der Eleganz des französischen Barocks verbarg sich, unter dem Blick der Kolonialherren, eine Spannung in den rituellen Trommeln der Ureinwohner. Im Krump gibt es diese glühende Art und Weise, die in den Körpern vorhandene Gewalt auszudrücken, und zwar durch symbolische Gesten, die wiederum eine politische Reaktion auf die in den schwarzen Ghettos von Los Angeles vorhandene Polizeibrutalität darstellen. Durch die Gegenüberstellung dieser Musik und Krump konnte ein kleiner geopolitisch-historischer Kurzschluss in der Geschichte der Völker und Ritualen auf beiden Seiten des Atlantiks entstehen.

IG: Augenblicklich arbeitest du wieder an dem Projekt Les Indes Galantes, zusammen mit der Opéra national de Paris. Diesmal nicht nur an einer Szene, sondern am gesamten Opernballett. Was ist die Motivation hinter der Fortführung dieses Projekts, und wirst du wieder mit denselben jungen Tänzerinnen und Tänzern arbeiten wie 2017?

CC: Bezugnehmend auf das Video lud mich Stéphane Lissner, der Direktor der Pariser Oper, dazu ein, die gesamte Oper auf der Bühne der Opéra Bastille zu inszenieren, diesmal mit SängerInnen, dem und zusätzlich zu den TänzerInnen. Ich lud einen der Choreografen ein, Bintou Dembele, mit dem ich für das Video zusammengearbeitet hatte, die Choreografie zu machen. Einige der Tänzer aus dem Video werden auch auf der Bühne stehen. Aber wir haben, abgesehen von Krump, auch andere Tänzer aus dem Bereich Street Dance, wie Electro, Popping oder Voguing, eingeladen. Das choreografische Spektrum wird also über Krump hinausgehen.

IG: Denken wir nun an beide Filme, Les Indes Galantesund The Evil Eye, kann ich mir vorstellen, dass der gesamte Prozess des Filmens und der Arbeit backstage sehr unterschiedlich war. Auf der einen Seite eine Gruppe zu vereinen, eine soziale Gruppe mit verschiedenen Hintergründen, die mit ihren Körpern sehr präsent in der Oper selbst, aber auch im Film ist. Das trifft vielleicht auch auf Filme wie Neither Heaven Nor Earthzu. Und auf der anderen Seite arbeitetest du für The Evil Eyehauptsächlich mit der Datenbank und ihren Bildern. Hast du das als eine andere Arbeitsweise empfunden?

CC: Mit jedem Projekt versuche ich mich mit neuen Vorgehensweisen und Arbeitsmöglichkeiten zu befassen. In Les Indes Galantesist wohl der Körper am stärksten präsent — physisch, politisch, als Kollektiv — und in The Evil Eyeam wenigsten: Alle darin vertretenen Körper erscheinen eher wie Artefakte. Der Körper ist hier in erster Stelle nur ein Stellvertreter, nie eine Präsenz oder Energie. Was ich aber in meiner Arbeit stets versuche, ist diese Präsenz und Energie von Menschen einzufangen. Die Konfrontation mit diesen Datenbanken, gigantischen Katalogen stereotyper Bilder, ist eine Herausforderung an mich selbst: Wo befinde ich mich inmitten dieser Präsenzen, dem Kern meiner Arbeit?

IG: Bei einer Länge von 15 Minuten impliziert der Film jedoch eine Art der Erzählung, obwohl der Text während des gesamten Films fortgesetzt wird und man den Eindruck bekommt, dieser Geschichte gefolgt zu sein, sind es eigentlich nur die auffälligen Bilder, die den Betrachter, die Betrachterin ansprechen. Ist dieser Eindruck Teil eines künstlerischen Konzepts?

CC: Die ursprüngliche Idee war es, eine Dramaturgie rund um Bilder zu konstruieren, die weder eine Dramaturgie noch sonst etwas Erzählerisches beinhalten. Mit dem Fortschreiten der Bearbeitung wird der Text flüssiger und das Gefühl wird zum tragenden Element. Für mich ist die Narration immer auch eine Möglichkeit, an einen bestimmten Punkt zu gelangen. Es ist weniger das Vehikel von Bedeutung als der Weg an sich beziehungsweise das Ziel. Die Fiktion ist auch immer ein Weg, den Betrachter direkt, aber auch intellektuell anzusprechen und die Kontrolle über seine sensorischen und emotionalen Reaktionen zu nehmen. Um ihn oder sie am Ende an ein unerwartetes Gefühl oder eine Emotion heranzutragen, voller Widersprüche.

IG: Du meintest eben, dass The Evil Eye auch als eine Art Archiv der Gegenwart funktionieren könnte. Es erzählt viel über unsere Bilder von Wünschen, Ängsten usw. Auf diese direkte Weise mit all dem direkt konfrontiert zu werden, zur gleichen Zeit irritiert und verführt zu werden. Würdest du sagen, es reflektiert und fordert unseren Glauben an oberflächliche Erscheinungen heraus?

CC: Ich denke, für mich ist das ein Weg, die Verführung durch Fiktion zu hinterfragen: Diese seltsame Widersprüchlichkeit beinhaltet einerseits, den Zuschauer, die Zuschauerin durch die Erzählform zu hypnotisieren, die durch visuelle Momente und den Sound gebildet wird, von dem wir unsere Aufmerksamkeit nicht lösen können. Gleichzeitig wird er oder sie in eine ungemütliche Situation gesteckt, verwirrt und fast schon verstört durch die Bedeutung, die durch diese Signale hervorgerufen wird. Im Grunde versuche ich mit The Evil Eye, den Gesang der Sirenen zu verstehen.

Clément Cogitore (*1983, lebt und arbeitet in Paris) absolvierte sein Studium an der École Supérieure des Arts Décoratifs de Strasbourg) und am Le Fresnoy — Studio national des arts contemporains in Tourcoing.

KuratorIn: Ines Goldbach