Marina Rosenfeld

We'll start a fire

11.6. —
26.9.2021

KHBL MR 7
Marina Rosenfeld, Tube, 2019. Installation view Kunsthaus Baselland 2021. Photo : Gina Folly
KHBL MR 2
Marina Rosenfeld, Fountain, 2021; Receiver #2, 2021; Receiver #3, 2021. Installation view Kunsthaus Baselland 2021. Photo : Gina Folly
KHBL MR 3
Marina Rosenfeld, front: Receiver #5; Bow, 2021; back: Purl, 2019; Music Stand #3, 2019; Vertice, 2019. Installation view Kunsthaus Baselland 2021. Photo: Gina Folly
2021 Rosenfeld E 1
Marina Rosenfeld, Buffer, 2021. Installation view Kunsthaus Baselland 2021. Photo: Gina Folly
KHBL MR 1
Marina Rosenfeld, Curtain, 2021; Receiver #2, 2021. Installation view Kunsthaus Baselland 2021. Photo : Gina Folly
KHBL MR 6
Marina Rosenfeld, Annotation (Bow); Receiver #3; Curtain, 2021. Installation view Kunsthaus Baselland 2021. Photo : Gina Folly
KHBL MR 5
Marina Rosenfeld, Music Stand #3, 2019; Purl, 2019. Installation view Kunsthaus Baselland 2021. Photo : Gina Folly
KHBL MR 4
Marina Rosenfeld, Fountain; Receiver #3; Receiver #2; Curtain, 2021. Installation view Kunsthaus Baselland 2021. Photo : Gina Folly
2021 Rosenfeld E 3
Marina Rosenfeld, Harp, 2021. Installation view Kunsthaus Baselland 2021. Photo: Gina Folly
2021 Rosenfeld E 2
Marina Rosenfeld, We'll start a fire, 2021. Installation view Kunsthaus Baselland 2021. Photo: Gina Folly

Project partners


1 US Embassy 2021 04 28 122127
Novartis Logo Pos Blk
Logo De 300Dpi Pour Print Isaac Dreyfus Bernheim Petit

Marina Rosenfeld (b. 1968) is an artist and composer living and working in Brooklyn, NY. Rosenfeld’s works concern themselves with acoustic and perceptual architectures, intervening into sites through the media of sculpture and sound, musical performance and notation. Often taking the form of sound systems on the verge of feedback, Rosenfeld’s recursive networks propose a temporal logic derived from computer music and other machinic reproductions of the body. The exhibition includes new works revisiting the traces of one of the artist’s iconic early all-female orchestras; performances within the exhibition in September will seek to reactivate one of these transient gestures.

She has created works equally within contemporary art and music platforms, including solo projects for the Park Avenue Armory, the Museum of Modern Art, the Kitchen, South London Gallery, and the Foundacion Serralves. Her work has been included in numerous international surveys and biennials including the Whitney Biennial (2002 and 2008), Liverpool Biennial (2012), PERFORMA Biennial (2009, 2011), Bienniale de Montréal (2015), Aurora Biennial (Dallas, 2020) and the radio program Every Time A Ear Di Soun of documenta14 (2017). Solo exhibitions in recent years include Deathstar at Portikus Frankfurt (2017), Music Stands at the Artist’s Institute (2019) and After Notation at Bard Center for Curatorial Studies (2015). During 2021 she will participate in the group exhibitions Hotel de Lièvre at Campoli Presti, Paris, and Seeing Sound at the Kadist Foundation, San Francisco.

Social practice and collaboration have also been an important part of Rosenfeld’s practice since the 1990s; her all-female 1993 performance work Sheer Frost Orchestra had its first Australian performance in 2019 at Dark Mofo (Tasmania), and will be performed in Geneva, Switzerland, in May as part of Memoire d’space by Ensemble Vide. Other recent performances and productions include Musica Strasbourg, Donaueschinger Musiktage, and Ultima, Borealis, Holland and Vancouver festivals, among many others. In the category of improvised electronic music, her activities have included performing with the Merce Cunningham Dance Company between 2004 and 2008. She has also composed and staged solo works for musicians Okkyung Lee, Marino Formenti, Annette Henry aka Warrior Queen, and created scores for choreographers Maria Hassabi and Ralph Lemon. Rosenfeld’s recordings are published by the Room40, Shelter Press and iDEAL labels, with forthcoming releases on INFO and 901 Editions. Rosenfeld was on the faculty of Bard College’s Milton Avery School of the Arts from 2004 to 2020 and is currently a research artist with Experiments in Art and Technology at Bell Labs in the US.

A comprehensive interview with the artist and Ines Goldbach was published on the occasion of the exhibition.

Curator: Ines Goldbach

Marina Rosenfeld

We'll start a fire

11.6. —
26.9.2021

KHBL MR 7
Marina Rosenfeld, Tube, 2019. Ausstellungsansicht Kunsthaus Baselland 2021. Foto : Gina Folly
KHBL MR 2
Marina Rosenfeld, Fountain, 2021; Receiver #2, 2021; Receiver #3, 2021. Ausstellungsansicht Kunsthaus Baselland 2021. Foto: Gina Folly
KHBL MR 3
Marina Rosenfeld, front: Receiver #5; Bow, 2021; back: Purl, 2019; Music Stand #3, 2019; Vertice, 2019. Ausstellungsansicht Kunsthaus Baselland 2021. Foto: Gina Folly
2021 Rosenfeld E 1
Marina Rosenfeld, Buffer, 2021. Ausstellungsansicht Kunsthaus Baselland 2021. Foto: Gina Folly
KHBL MR 1
Marina Rosenfeld, Curtain, 2021; Receiver #2, 2021. Ausstellungsansicht Kunsthaus Baselland 2021. Foto : Gina Folly
KHBL MR 6
Marina Rosenfeld, Annotation (Bow); Receiver #3; Curtain, 2021. Ausstellungsansicht Kunsthaus Baselland 2021. Foto : Gina Folly
KHBL MR 5
Marina Rosenfeld, Music Stand #3, 2019; Purl, 2019. Ausstellungsansicht Kunsthaus Baselland 2021. Foto : Gina Folly
KHBL MR 4
Marina Rosenfeld, Fountain; Receiver #3; Receiver #2; Curtain, 2021. Ausstellungsansicht Kunsthaus Baselland 2021. Foto : Gina Folly
2021 Rosenfeld E 3
Marina Rosenfeld, Harp, 2021. Ausstellungsansicht Kunsthaus Baselland 2021. Foto: Gina Folly
2021 Rosenfeld E 2
Marina Rosenfeld, We'll start a fire, 2021. Ausstellungsansicht Kunsthaus Baselland 2021. Foto: Gina Folly

Projektpartner


1 US Embassy 2021 04 28 122127
Novartis Logo Pos Blk
Logo De 300Dpi Pour Print Isaac Dreyfus Bernheim Petit

We'll start a fire ist die erste bedeutende Einzelausstellung der in New York lebenden und arbeitenden Künstlerin und Komponistin Marina Rosenfeld (*1968) in der Schweiz. Die Künstlerin befasst sich in ihrer Praxis mit akustischen und perzeptiven Architekturen und führt ortsspezifische Interventionen in den Medien Skulptur, Klang, Musikperformance und Notation durch. Rosenfelds rekursive Netzwerke, die oft die Form von an der Schwelle zur Rückkopplung stehenden Soundsystemen annehmen, suggerieren eine zeitliche Logik, die auf Computermusik und anderen maschinellen Reproduktionen des Körpers basiert. Die Ausstellung umfasst neue Arbeiten, die an die legendären frühen Frauenorchester der Künstlerin angelehnt sind. Im September diesen Jahres sollen einige der flüchtigen Gesten dieser Projekte durch die im Rahmen der Ausstellung stattfindenden Performances reaktiviert werden.

Marina Rosenfeld hat Werke sowohl innerhalb zeitgenössischer Kunst- als auch Musikplattformen geschaffen, darunter Soloprojekte für die Park Avenue Armory, das Museum of Modern Art, the Kitchen, die South London Gallery und die Foundacion Serralves. Ihre Arbeiten waren Teil zahlreicher internationaler Surveys und Biennalen, u.a. der Whitney Biennial (2002 und 2008), Liverpool Biennial (2012), PERFORMA Biennial (2009, 2011), Bienniale de Montréal (2015), AURORA Biennial (Dallas, 2020) und dem Radioprogramm Every Time A Ear Di Soun der documenta14 (2017). Zu den Einzelausstellungen der letzten Jahre zählen Deathstar im Portikus Frankfurt (2017), Music Stands im Artist's Institute (2019) und After Notation im Bard Center for Curatorial Studies (2015). Im Jahr 2021 wird sie an den Gruppenausstellungen Hotel de Lièvre im Campoli Presti, Paris, und Seeing Sound in der Kadist Foundation, San Francisco, teilnehmen.

Seit den 1990er Jahren waren auch soziale Praxis und Kollaboration ein wichtiger Teil in Rosenfelds Arbeit; ihre rein weibliche Performance-Arbeit Sheer Frost Orchestra von 1993 wurde 2019 erstmals auf dem Festival Dark Mofo (Tasmanien) gezeigt und wird im Mai in Genf, Schweiz, als Teil von Memoire d'space vom Ensemble Vide aufgeführt. Weitere aktuelle Auftritte und Produktionen sind u.a. bei Musica Strasbourg, den Donaueschinger Musiktagen und den Festivals Ultima, Borealis, Holland und Vancouver. Im Bereich der improvisierten elektronischen Musik trat sie unter anderem zwischen 2004 und 2008 mit der Merce Cunningham Dance Company auf. Außerdem komponierte und inszenierte sie Solowerke für die Musiker Okkyung Lee, Marino Formenti und Annette Henry aka Warrior Queen und schuf Partituren für die Choreografen Maria Hassabi und Ralph Lemon. Rosenfelds Aufnahmen sind bei den Labels Room40, Shelter Press und iDEAL erschienen, weitere Veröffentlichungen bei INFO und 901 Editions stehen bevor. Rosenfeld war von 2004 bis 2020 Lehrbeauftragte der Milton Avery School of the Arts des Bard College und ist derzeit Forschungskünstlerin bei Experiments in Art and Technology an den Bell Labs in den USA.


Anlässlich der Ausstellung ist ein umfassendes Interview mit der Künstlerin und Ines Goldbach erschienen.

KuratorIn: Ines Goldbach